Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ICQ in win2k.

  1. #1
    Super MURCer Rags's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Casper, WY
    Posts
    4,072

    Post ICQ in win2k.

    Hi all,

    I am having some problems with ICQ (2000a) under win2k. What happens is sometimes people don't appear online and available, when I know they are online and available for me to see. Also, I appear in different modes to other people than what I really am. Sometimes I appear offline, NA, or Away, all the while I am available. Now here is the weird part. When I am showing offline, and someone sends a message to me, I never get the message. I have reinstalled a couple of times, and have yet to find out what is causing all this.

    Any ideas?

    Rags


  2. #2
    Super MURCer
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Rockville, MD, USA
    Posts
    3,928

    Post

    Why don't you try the 2000b. I am using it flawlessly in W2k.
    http://www.icq.com/download/

  3. #3
    MURCer Hunsow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    HtH, DR, Nederland
    Posts
    658

    Post

    Sounds like ISP problems, I know I had my share. I would check the connection settings. It's also possible that your firewall, if you have one, causes it. I doubt that the problem is win2k itself, unless it's damaged somehow.

    I'm using icq2000a also because I hate the stupid extra window you get with the b version.

    ------------------
    ------------
    ------

  4. #4
    Super MURCer
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY, USA
    Posts
    2,275

    Post

    Try checking your network settings. You could also try using a different version of ICQ. If you use a firewall, try disabling it and see if ICQ works.

    Actually, I want to go back to 99b, but it seems they change the DB every version, and I don't think you can convert the DB back to an older version. If I could convert it back, I would go back to 99b.

  5. #5
    Super MURCer Greebe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Bradenton, Florida
    Posts
    8,649

    Cool

    Matt, check port 5190 and or 4000. These are the ones normally used.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Icq List
    By Lizzard[MPE] in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 11th November 2003, 18:50
  2. Is icq down?
    By Fat Tone in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 8th July 2003, 02:30
  3. ICQ Borked?
    By leech in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th May 2003, 17:46
  4. For all ICQ junkies: ICQ 2001b Beta is out
    By Jorden in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 3rd November 2001, 02:02
  5. Dualhead and ICQ
    By Carceron in forum Matrox Hardware
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 23rd October 2000, 17:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •