Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: router? mesh router?

  1. #16
    Moderator VJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Belgium/Poland
    Posts
    9,511

    Default

    The router would most likely be in a different place compared to where the current one is, so the usb port on the router would not be of use. The whole network upgradewas a bit of a longer term planning which became more urgent due to the network issues at my girlfriend's parents.

    Do you know where I can find data on the DPI/IPS performance of the Mikrotik?

    I was looking at the Ubiquiti USG, but enabling DPI and IPS drops the datarate to 85 Mbps. We have a 300Mbps connection, and getting a router like this knowing in advance that some functionality would already be a bottleneck seems a bit of a shame. The Ubiquiti Pro version limits to 250Mbps and the XG to 1 Gbps... Then they have the Dream Machine, which can go to 850 Mbps and includes some other interesting features... but a bit of a weird formfactor...

    But first: not sure if I need it... Still, high end routers of other brands (Asus, TP-Link, ...) in the same price-range seem capable of DPI/IPS (although details on the performance are scarce). The Ubiquiti USG Pro is very overkill (esp. price wise), the Dream Machine is even more expensive but has wireless built in and would allow me to do everything with one device. Still, price is right up there with high end models from any other brand and if one device suffices (and at our flat one access point ought to be enough, if it is well positioned), then why go to whole unify thing...
    Last edited by VJ; 14th January 2020 at 03:39.
    pixar
    Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow. (James Dean)

  2. #17
    Super MURCer UtwigMU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sin City
    Posts
    5,141

    Default

    If you want DPI / IPS you want something like Fortigate or Mini ITX PC with wifi card and Linux. I know some newer Mikrotiks such as 4011 have hardware acceleration for VPN encryption, etc... But I think capable 300Mbps DPI inspection solution will range in >= 400-500€ range.

  3. #18
    Moderator VJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Belgium/Poland
    Posts
    9,511

    Default

    The Ubiquiti Dream Machine (850 Mpbs dpi/ips) is 300-400 euro. A pro version (rack mount, no wifi) is expected for quite some time now - specs are visible as it has been submitted to FCC. From what I gather, their current USG range is getting a bit outdated, so they most likely are renewing everything soon. This may mean there is less sense in getting e.g. a USG-Pro (250 euro), but it may not rule out the USG (110 euro) as it could be a nice platform to start with. I don't have DPI/IPS at this time, so for sure I don't need it soon, if I would need it later, I could keep the access point and upgrade the router independently.
    I would like to move to something that is VLAN capable, mainly to learn, but that rules out most consumer routers. I was even looking at some microITX board and pfsense, but it quickly gets above the price range I'm looking at.

    The Mikrotik look nice from a hardware point of view, but their settings seem a bit intimidating. Still haven't ruled them out, although it seems to me that many devices are also already quite old (e.g. the 2011 range).
    pixar
    Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow. (James Dean)

  4. #19
    Super MURCer UtwigMU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sin City
    Posts
    5,141

    Default

    Mikrotik is simple, you set up everything you need for basic internet access and wifi on quick setup screen which is similar to consumer routers. For advanced stuff you can drill down in menus in winbox or web management and you may google article and paste command lines in shell which you can access in winbox (mikrotik program for managing routers) or by ssh.

  5. #20
    Moderator VJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Belgium/Poland
    Posts
    9,511

    Default

    I placed an order: in the end I decided to go for the Ubiquiti... I don't think it will be such a difference for my purpose, what put me to the decision was mainly the interface (I could try out the different simulators) combined with a nice promotion on Amazon... It may be a bit under-powered for enterprise usage, but for sure it seems like a good entry-point for me to start with a better equipped network. My girlfriend and I often work remotely (through VPNs), and she often has pauses and disconnections (wifi stays connected, just the remote desktop pauses). I'm hoping that an entry level enterprise-class device would be better for this purpose than most consumer routers... So let's see. Added benefit over a consumer router is that I could better plan my network (when I count, it is ridiculous how many devices a single two-person household has: 9 ethernet connected devices (not counting smart switch or router), 3 devices that are mainly on wifi but also have ethernet and then a number of tablets/phones...).
    pixar
    Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow. (James Dean)

  6. #21
    Moderator VJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Belgium/Poland
    Posts
    9,511

    Default

    Router arrived, accesspoint is not here yet...

    From what I learned on the Ubiquiti forums, to get the pc onto 2 VLANs, the easiest would be to use two network cards. The other option would route all the traffic through the router as my switch is not level-3 and does not do inter-vlan traffic. And getting a computer on multiple VLANs with a single nic is problematic.

    The traffic from the smarthome server to the rest of the network is limited, so no issue in passing that one through the router. The layout would be

    router lan 1 --trunk--> switch
    router lan 2 --> smarthome server

    pc nic1 ----> switch port for vlan1
    pc nic2 ----> switch port for vlan2

    A bit of an issue is that I have just two ethernet ports where that pc is, and one should be used for the media player... For now I can have a workaround, but I may have to look at some switch to make it more elegant (or when devices get added)...
    Last edited by VJ; 23rd January 2020 at 03:39.
    pixar
    Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow. (James Dean)

  7. #22
    Moderator VJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Belgium/Poland
    Posts
    9,511

    Default

    Access point arrived also, but have not much time to play with it. It is really a step up from the consumer-routers: the hardware feels solid, the software very advanced. Hope to find some time soon...
    pixar
    Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow. (James Dean)

  8. #23
    Super MURCer UtwigMU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sin City
    Posts
    5,141

    Default

    I did new wifi at work:

    3 Ubiquiti AP-AC LR access points in management VLAN (for now, we'll expand this to old parts if we go fully operational again - tomorrow we will likely reduce most operations to minimum)
    Debian Unifi Controller box (just put a VM on ESX) in management VLAN

    2 wifi networks one for corporate and one for guests on different VLANs

    Everything on Aruba POE switch.

    Once you realize you need Debian 9 for mongodb for controller, everything was pretty straightforward. Additional APs you just plug in POE, configure DHCP reservations and adopt them in controller web interface.

    Did a test setup in corporate VLAN with test controller VM and single AP first. I thought I'll need help from vendor but I did everything myself.
    Last edited by UtwigMU; 26th March 2020 at 07:52.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •