Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Adobe CS5

  1. #1
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sarajevo
    Posts
    550

    Default Adobe CS5

    I must say it rocks!

    It's faster than CS4, many bugs are fixed, more stable, more useful options...

    I'm talking in the first place about Premiere, After Effects, and Photoshop.

    What's your opinions?

  2. #2
    MURC Writer Elie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,653

    Default

    Yeah, I got the Master Collection and it rocks!

  3. #3
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sarajevo
    Posts
    550

    Default

    You need to download Acrobat separately.

  4. #4
    Super MURCer Fat Tone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Sherwood Forest
    Posts
    8,456

    Default

    Just ordered the Student and Teacher version of the Master Collection. That's almost a reasonable price in the UK
    FT.

  5. #5
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    124

    Default

    I know this thread is over a year old, but would any of you be willing to show your hardware specs (CPU, Mobo, Video card, Memory)? I know Adobe posts "minimum specs", but I'd like to know what kind of rigs end MURC-users of CS5 have been happy with.

    Thank you.

  6. #6
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sarajevo
    Posts
    550

    Default

    I'm using CS 5.5 MC now, which comes with Acrobat and Audition 4.

    I used it previously on my old dual core Opteron with 2GB of RAM and 8800 GT.
    Now I'm using it on Phenom X6 with 16GB of RAM, Asus M4A89GTD PRO USB3, GTX 460, SSD, Win7x64SP1.
    Also using it on i7-950 with 12GB of RAM, Asus Sabertooth X58, GTX460, SSD, Win7x64SP1.

  7. #7

    Default

    Most important factors - memory, memory, memory, followed by quad core, scratch , OS, and Data files on separate disks - an SSD may make sense for scratch - not for the others. Then buy a GPU that supports the video processing at high speed if you are working with video/animation. Otherwise it really doesn't have much impact on 2D work.

  8. #8
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    124

    Default

    Thank you.

    Degrub, you mention OS, Scratch and Data all on separate drives. Would you RAID any of these? I mainly plan to work with Video (AVHDC) and some animation. I read elsewhere that AVHDC isn't necessarily demanding on drive access time, but rather more demanding of CPU/GPU power because the format is compressed...

  9. #9

    Default

    try it without raid. Scratch is the only one to speed up - i would use an ssd if anything. Check around on using AV rated drives rather than std drives as well.

  10. #10
    Moderator VJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Belgium/Poland
    Posts
    9,475

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JerryH View Post
    Degrub, you mention OS, Scratch and Data all on separate drives. Would you RAID any of these? I mainly plan to work with Video (AVHDC) and some animation. I read elsewhere that AVHDC isn't necessarily demanding on drive access time, but rather more demanding of CPU/GPU power because the format is compressed...
    I don't use CS, but having these things on separate disks is just to allow the software to have independant access. So for sure don't put them together in one raid (if I understand your question correctly). Having it on separate disks allows for simultaneous access: it can write to the scratch disk WHILE reading the data disk for instance.

    (it also makes sense to put your windows pagefile on a separate physical disk)
    pixar
    Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow. (James Dean)

  11. #11
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sarajevo
    Posts
    550

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by degrub View Post
    an SSD may make sense for scratch - not for the others
    I'm using SSD as system disk. OS and apps are running significantly faster with SSD.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Adobe vs. Vista
    By Dr Mordrid in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd November 2006, 14:38
  2. Adobe Premiere 6.0 or 6.5?
    By iKwak in forum Desktop Video
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd June 2004, 14:07
  3. Adobe Premiere
    By TazG in forum Desktop Video
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st June 2003, 08:20
  4. Adobe After Effects
    By dsp in forum Desktop Video
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th April 2000, 13:27
  5. Adobe Premiere 5.5 ??
    By dragmore in forum Desktop Video
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 19th February 2000, 16:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •