Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Missing CD music in games...

  1. #1
    mini MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dublin, IRELAND
    Posts
    16

    Thumbs down Missing CD music in games...

    I have a problem I haven't been able to figure out yet.

    CD music (I mean music tracks on a CD) won't play in any game that is supposed to support it.

    For example Driver has some nice CD tracks but they won't play during the game. Same goes for Kingpin.

    I have a Creative DVD 6X drive. The drive is connected to the sound card (SBLIVE! Value)and plays music tracks just fine through the Windows CD player.

    Anybody knows what's wrong?

    Any help greatly appreciated,

    Lorenzo


    My configuration:
    Abit BH6
    Pentium II 450
    G400 Max
    SBLIVE! Value
    Creative 6x DVD-ROM
    Adaptec 2940 U2W
    DIGI ISDN ISA card



  2. #2
    MURCer motub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Oosterhout, The Netherlands
    Posts
    699

    Question

    All right, this is really stupid, I know, but it never hurts to check...

    Most of these games (in my experience) have a setting in the "Options" section for turning 'CD Audio' on or off. The default setting is often "off". Is it turned on in the games you're trying to play?

    Just an idea...

    -------------
    Holly

  3. #3
    mini MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dublin, IRELAND
    Posts
    16

    Post

    Well, that was implicit. Obviously I have CD music enabled in both games...

    Lorenzo

  4. #4
    MURCer motub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Oosterhout, The Netherlands
    Posts
    699

    Lightbulb

    Hey, you may have noticed everyone is not so clever as you....who knew?

    Did surf through some of the Kingpin msg board (huge bbs).. noticed a post that some people having sound problems were relieved by turning their TV-Out off... but their problem was the reverse of yours, only music, no sfx (I assume you are hearing the game sfx correctly? And having no other problems in the game(s)?). Since Kingpin, at least (don't know much about Driver), is an OGL game, depending on which drivers you're using, you might try turning off Dual Head, if you hadn't already... and what version of DX (excuse me, "Direct X") do you have running anyway?

    I'll dig about further, and see what I turn up.

    ------------------------
    Holly

  5. #5
    Super MURCer Wombat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    DENVER, CO
    Posts
    9,722

    Arrow

    It kind of sounds like one of your drivers doesn't correctly support Redbook. Have you contacted Creative? Checked for driver updates?

    -Wombat


    ------------------
    K6-2/350@400, 503+ rev 1.2a, 128MB PC100 RAM, Millenium G200, RH6.1 w/ 2.2.12-20, Win98, and too many classes


  6. #6
    mini MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dublin, IRELAND
    Posts
    16

    Question

    First of all thanks for your suggestions!

    The problem I'm having is very strange. Dualhead is turned off and the sound drivers I'm using are the original ones I got on the CD of my OEM SBLIVE! Value.
    The reason I'm not using newer ones from Live!Ware distributions is that when I install Live!ware 2.0 (and even if then I upgrade to 2.1), I experience regular lockups with looping sound in a few games. One of which is Microsoft International Football 2000 (cool game BTW).

    After looking for ages for a solution to those lockups (and trying all suggestions found in the forums), I found that the problem was in Live!ware. When I use the vanilla drivers from the OEM CD the lockups went away.

    Now, I don't remember if CD music was working with Live!ware, I'll try installing it today after making an image of my HD.

    One thing I forgot to mention. My SBLive refuses to move from the current IRQ 15. Can this have anything to do with the problem? How can I force it to IRQ5 like a lot of people are suggesting in other forums? (I'm using Win98SE)

    Thanks for your help!

    Lorenzo

  7. #7
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    W.Hempstead, NY, USA
    Posts
    238

    Post

    I posted a solution, but then deleted it. sorry.

  8. #8
    mini MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dublin, IRELAND
    Posts
    16

    Post

    Uhh?
    Please, please repost!

    Lorenzo

  9. #9
    Jeepin' to the grave Kruzin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Casper, Wy, USA, Earth
    Posts
    6,598

    Post

    What jack on your live is your CD sound plugged into? If it's plugged into the digital or auxiliary plug, that could be the problem. Games only look at the main cd audio port on sound cards for input...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Music games
    By VJ in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st April 2005, 06:17
  2. Old games music in MP3 format
    By Drizzt in forum The Soap Box
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th June 2002, 01:32
  3. Console Games or PC Games?
    By Helevitia in forum The Soap Box
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 5th August 2001, 08:06
  4. Missing threads
    By Bruno in forum Desktop Video
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th August 2000, 23:21
  5. Missing WU!
    By Sir Hitech in forum Distributed@MURC
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 1st July 2000, 13:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •