Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Ever thought of using a DoubleCelery ?

  1. #1
    Markus Selchow
    Guest

    Default Ever thought of using a DoubleCelery ?

    Hi Guys !

    Things are getting easier, for those who are not born amongst soldering wires and screwdrivers !

    <A HREF="http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/supermicrotmr006/"target=_new> look here </A>

    ------------------
    Cheers,
    Maggi

    Asus P2B-S - Celeron 500A (!) - Mystique G200 @ 162MHz PowerStrip - 8MB SDRAM



  2. #2
    The Berserker Jammrock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Right behind you.
    Posts
    8,985

    Default

    Sounds like a good idea. The only problem is that unless you are using Windows NT, Windows 2000, BeOS or Linux you will not see any difference in speed. WIn9x does not support mulit-processors. And since win9x is the most used OS for gamers, it's kind of not worth it. Unless Windows 2k works....hahahahaha....that was funny.

    Jammrock

  3. #3
    Super MURCer Wombat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    DENVER, CO
    Posts
    9,722

    Default

    <ponder>Dual Celeron 366's @ 550 running Rawhide 6.0, playing Quake 3....,</ponder>


  4. #4
    Cerberus
    Guest

    Default

    Considering Quake3 won't use SMP makes it pointless to use Linux just to play it.

    /per

  5. #5
    Super MURCer Wombat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    DENVER, CO
    Posts
    9,722

    Default

    Cerberus,
    I don't think that it has to use SMP. Are you familiar with Rawhide? I'm pretty sure it will distribute the load on its own. After all, it distributes work across different motherboards.


  6. #6

    Default

    For anyone interested in more than SMP, this might be of interest to them: Beowulf Linux cluster, read more on this cluster workload scheduling and loading of multi-processor/system environment at:
    <a href="http://www.beowulf.org/">Beowulf Project</A>




  7. #7
    Super MURCer Wombat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    DENVER, CO
    Posts
    9,722

    Default

    Yes, that's why I wasn't worried about SMP. They're building a rather large Beowulf cluster in the Physics department here, and so I've been hearing some rather interesting software discussion. Rawhide distributes the load automatically, doesn't it?




  8. #8
    mini MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Laurel, MD USA
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quake3 WILL use SMP, check John Carmack's May 19th <a href="http://www.linuxquake.com/cgi-bin/finger?view=johnc@idsoftware.com">.plan</a> file.

    Mentions that he expects a dual P400 to outperform the best Single processor CPU. We'll see I suppose.

    Todd

  9. #9
    mini MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Laurel, MD USA
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quake3 WILL use SMP, check John Carmack's May 19th <a href="http://www.linuxquake.com/cgi-bin/finger?view=johnc@idsoftware.com">.plan</a> file.

    Mentions that he expects a dual P400 to outperform the best Single processor CPU. We'll see I suppose.

    Todd

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. A thought
    By Brian Ellis in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 28th August 2007, 20:24
  2. A thought
    By Brian Ellis in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th July 2006, 03:49
  3. I saw this and thought of you...
    By Paddy in forum The Soap Box
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th May 2001, 05:54
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th February 2001, 15:06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •