Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Running a rack mount UPS on its side?

  1. #1
    Super MURCer SteveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Rayleigh, Essex, UK
    Posts
    3,526

    Default Running a rack mount UPS on its side?

    Hi all,

    Got hold of a Compaq 3KVA Rack Mount UPS, but I need to run it on its side - it should be OK, shouldn't it? The batteries are sealed and it survived the trip home in my car on its side...
    Cheers,
    Steve

  2. #2
    MURCer spadnos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunny Vermont
    Posts
    866

    Default

    It should be fine, unless there are heat / ventilation issues. You should orient it so that any 'hot" parts are on top.

    Oh, of course there's also the possible problem of mechanical mounting of the batteries - they should be pretty heavy in that size UPS, and the mounts may not be meant for non-horizontal orientations.

    You could possibly leave it flat, and use it as a computer stand.

    - Steve

  3. #3
    Super MURCer SteveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Rayleigh, Essex, UK
    Posts
    3,526

    Default

    The problem is is that it doesn't fit in my cupboard flat by literally an inch or so

    Pretty heavy? heh it's 70 Kilos in total! I've put it in anyway - I'll keep an eye on it and see how warm it gets - it's got a fan on it which comes on when on battery power - I'd assume it would also come on if it gets warm too on normal use? We'll see I guess!
    Cheers,
    Steve

  4. #4
    Super MURCer Wombat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    DENVER, CO
    Posts
    9,541

    Default

    Are the batteries totally sealed, or are they vented?
    Gigabyte P35-DS3L with a Q6600, 2GB Kingston HyperX (after *3* bad pairs of Crucial Ballistix 1066), Galaxy 8800GT 512MB, SB X-Fi, some drives, and a Dell 2005fpw. Running WinXP.

  5. #5
    Super MURCer SteveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Rayleigh, Essex, UK
    Posts
    3,526

    Default

    from what I could see fully sealed. Well, no leaks so far anyway
    Cheers,
    Steve

  6. #6
    Super MURCer Marshmallowman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Perth,WA,Australia
    Posts
    3,425

    Default

    Personaly I would keep something like that upright. Sealed or not I get paranoid about stuff like that.

    With a UPS you want to be sure your looking after it.

    Mine died last week

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vista 64 bit side-by-side Error
    By Chucky Cheese in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd November 2008, 03:51
  2. Safe to mount a G400MAX on a i845D chipset?
    By Zanna in forum Matrox Hardware
    Replies: 83
    Last Post: 18th February 2007, 05:28
  3. Mount Kinabalu
    By lecter in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 30th October 2004, 09:56
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 1st January 2004, 13:42
  5. Safe to mount a G400MAX on a i845D chipset?
    By Zanna in forum The FAQ Files
    Replies: 76
    Last Post: 8th March 2003, 09:15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •