SageTV 2.0 review

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SageTV 2.0 review

SageTV2 is a very capable PVR app, which I definately would recommend to check out when looking for a frontend to use on a HTPC. See the review for full details of my findings.

Feel free to point out any grammar and spelling errors, as well as other valuable additions to the review in this thread, or just your thoughts on the review or on SageTV.

I'm glad somebody took a look at using an old G400 for use as a PVR. I have been using SageTV and SageTV Client for about 6 months now. I initially tried a G400 with it but because I could not display the UI when in DVDMax mode the excellent TVO was pointless. I changed to an ATI 9000 with a PVR-350. The TVO on the ATI is crappy compared to the G400 in DVD Max mode. The PVR-350 TVO quality is excellent and it does display the UI from SageTV 2.0, the problem is the stability of the product is crappy on my hardware with the UI enabled. It's not a heat issue as my PC is located in a basement and temps never see 30C. Many other people are having issues with SageTV and the 350 TVO. As you pointed out in your review the 350TVO can only output MPEG, so pushing Divx media through it is impossible.

Where SageTV really shines is in a multi -tuner / Client / Server environment. I let the software fill the harddrives with programming that we want to watch and everybody can sit down and view it when convenient, and skip through all the commercials. We have the client running on all the PC's in the house and can watch from PC's or sit and watch on the main TV which is displaying from the Server.

Now if we could only get Frey Technologies to somehow get the UI to overlay to the G400's DVDMax output, I would pop my G400 back in the PC in a second. I fear such a request would be quite low on their priority list.

I enjoyed your review, keep us updated on your experiences.
    Alcohol and Drugs make life tolerable.

Comment