• Problem with Video Overlay? and XP 16 bit color works fine 32 bit does not

athlon 800
    asus k7v
    256 sdram
    Matrox G400 Marvel
    WinXP SP1
    Via 4in1 4.43
    Adis driver and VT 3.02

Hello group. This is my first time posting a problem but I have found much help over the years in these forums. For that I thank you.
    My problem is this. I have just re-installed winxp plus service pack 1 and updates. Thanks to adis I now have working VT under XP however as you can see by the attached jpeg I am having some difficulty using video conf software with 32 bit color desktop resolution. 16 bit(bottom) is fine but 32 bit(top) looks like major snowstorm. I want to use 32 bit so the divx 5 codec can be used to capture. Plus 32 bit is so much nicer on the eyes.
    I remember I had the exact same problem when I first installed XP about a year ago and I did resolve the problem,, can't remember wtf I did though??!!
    In my lay point of view it seems to be an overlay problem but how to fix?
    I appreciate any input.
    Regards,
    Tim
    Attached Files

I should maybe clarify my problem. The corrupt (for lack of a better description) live video with the 32 bit color desktop is the PREVIEW of my line in composite video as per the vid chat app, in this case eyeball chat. I get the same "preview" with dwyco, and I can't try netmeeting since I own a Marvel G400

I know that I had previously overcome this problem the last time I did a fresh xp install but it was a long time ago and I have smoked too much since then

I have been able to capture fine with VD 1.54 with desktop palette at 32 bit and within VD I can see my composite video in perfectly. Have captured with divx 5.03 codec so everything seems to be working fine except for my preview video when using vid conf software.

I installed DirectX 9b but didn't make any diff.
    Could this perhaps be a codec problem? Either a conflict or less likely, a missing codec?