Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Low on resources!!

  1. #1
    mini MURCer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Have been living on the road
    Posts
    12

    Default Low on resources!!

    I'm running Win 98 Pent lll MSP 7.1. 256 mem
    I keep getting the message after about
    a half hour : system is very low on rescources.
    It then locks up. 6.5 never did this on my system.
    Could sure use some help!
    I have shut everything off in the background.
    Thanks Hank
    Hank

  2. #2
    Super MURCer Brian Ellis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    10,861

    Default

    The recommended minimum RAM for MSP7 is 512 Mb. With 256 Mb, you will probably be filling up your swapfile, which is quite leaky. IMHO.
    Brian (the devil incarnate)

  3. #3
    MURC Writer
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Robbinsville, NJ USA
    Posts
    1,487

    Default

    I agree with Brian. The increased resources of MSP7, a lot of which is attributed to instant playback, and the "leaky" memory nature of Win98 are creating this problem. Lots of apps "hold on" to memory in Win98 even after you close the program. Its the nature of the non-flat memory model in Win98.

    - Mark
    - Mark

    Core 2 Duo E6400 o/c 3.2GHz - Asus P5B Deluxe - 2048MB Corsair Twinx 6400C4 - ATI AIW X1900 - Seagate 7200.10 SATA 320GB primary - Western Digital SE16 SATA 320GB secondary - Samsung SATA Lightscribe DVD/CDRW- Midiland 4100 Speakers - Presonus Firepod - Dell FP2001 20" LCD - Windows XP Home

  4. #4
    Moderator Dr Mordrid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    25,676

    Default

    Lets not forget the temp and preview files also fill up C:. Better to put 'em on the video drive.

    Dr. Mordrid
    Dr. Mordrid
    ----------------------------
    An elephant is a mouse built to government specifications.

    I carry a gun because I can't throw a rock 1,250 fps

  5. #5
    mini MURCer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Have been living on the road
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thanks for the feedback. I'm on the road all the time and use
    a Sony laptop to produce features for a TV show, so I can't add any more ram. I unchecked many programs in startup config,
    and it helped some. I will move the temp & preview files to my
    external hard drive.

    Hank
    Hank

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. JVC's New Low Cost "Low Light" Camcorders
    By Jerry Jones in forum Desktop Video
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st February 2006, 06:17
  2. Live! 5.1 for low low price
    By nehalmistry in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th January 2002, 20:08
  3. Newbie looking for resources...
    By Bursar in forum Desktop Video
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th November 2001, 12:05
  4. Programming directinput : resources ?
    By VJ in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th August 2001, 09:12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •