Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ICQ Borked?

  1. #1

    Default ICQ Borked?

    This is confusing the hell out of me. Everytime I boot into windows (for about the past week and a half) ICQ complains that it can't connect. The thing that baffles me to no end is that if I go into linux where I use GnomeICU, it works perfectly fine. So then back in windows, Nope, still doesn't connect. So then I decide to install WinGaim (http://gaim.sourceforge.net) and it connects just fine. So does anyone else find it odd that the "Official" ICQ client doesn't connect, but all these Open Source ones do?

    Anyone else have this problem?

    Leech

    P.S. Forgot to mention that I"m running the latest version of ICQ and hadn't had problems before a week and a half or so ago. ICQ Version 2003a Build #3800
    Wah! Wah!

    In a perfect world... spammers would get caught, go to jail, and share a cell with many men who have enlarged their penises, taken Viagra and are looking for a new relationship.

  2. #2
    Super MURCer UtwigMU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sin City
    Posts
    5,087

    Default

    No idea, I use Trillian for that.

  3. #3
    Super MURCer Wombat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    DENVER, CO
    Posts
    9,722

    Default

    All those programs have options as to which ICQ server they are trying to logon to. See that they're the same.
    Gigabyte P35-DS3L with a Q6600, 2GB Kingston HyperX (after *3* bad pairs of Crucial Ballistix 1066), Galaxy 8800GT 512MB, SB X-Fi, some drives, and a Dell 2005fpw. Running WinXP.

  4. #4
    MURCer Sethos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Mid-Wester US
    Posts
    623

    Default

    I had a similar problem and eventually decided to just use trillian which had no problems...with mine I'd go to connect get rejected wait 15 min and then be able to connect just fine, of course I'd have to wait the 15 min before I'd beable to connect, then suddenly it went away...trillian is just more convenient for me though in the end...

    ~Sethos
    "...and in the next instant he was one of the deadest men that ever lived." Mark Twain

  5. #5
    Super MURCer Nowhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    At the edge
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    and for me miranda...when it comes to connecting it ALWAYS "cnocks out" native im client of ANY im network

  6. #6

    Default

    I had to say screw it. Tried Wombat's suggestion and that didn't work, so I'm just going to use WinGaim. I use Gaim in linux anyhow, and it works for whatever I need it for.... now if only gaim supported the Yahoo webcam, then I could get rid of MSN Messenger and Yahoo messenger and just use Gaim for all my needs.

    Leech
    Wah! Wah!

    In a perfect world... spammers would get caught, go to jail, and share a cell with many men who have enlarged their penises, taken Viagra and are looking for a new relationship.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. The Suffering... it's borked.
    By leech in forum MURC Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd June 2004, 22:15
  2. The internet is borked
    By Kooldino in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 22nd June 2004, 15:06
  3. 5.84 drivers borked
    By thop in forum Matrox Hardware
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 29th July 2002, 10:48
  4. For all ICQ junkies: ICQ 2001b Beta is out
    By Jorden in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 3rd November 2001, 02:02

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •