Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Hands on: ECS K7S6A (SiS74)

  1. #1
    Moderator Dr Mordrid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    26,102

    Default Hands on: ECS K7S6A (SiS745)

    This board is the follow-on to the ECS K7S6A (SiS735), which is in itself an over-achiever.

    The differences:

    SiS 745 supports for DDR333 RAM (PC-100 support dropped)

    3 DDR memory slots vs. 2 in the K7S5A

    More configurable BIOS (lots of new settings, incl. some O'clock settings)

    APIC support (extended IRQ's in Win2K/XP)

    Improved layout (floppy & IDE cables aren't so close as to cause tangles)

    Power connector out of the way

    No LAN connector (but onboard audio is still there)

    about $70-80 and very much worth the price difference from the K7S5A when it comes to DDR333, convenience and the improved BIOS.

    Advantage over VIA KT266/333 chipped boards;

    The KTxxx boards are set up to emphasize CPU to memory performance. This may be fine for playing games, but they fall on their arse when PCI busmastering is the essential ingredient.

    Where the ECS K7S5A/K7S6A differ is that they do emphasize PCI busmastering over CPU benchmarking. This makes them excellent boards in systems that will have multiple cards installed that, either singly or cumulatively, will require a high PCI bandwidth.

    Just one example: a high bandwidth RAID plus a realtime editing board. Lots of bits moving through the bus in these rigs and they push the PCI bus to the limits.

    Dr. Mordrid
    Last edited by Dr Mordrid; 9th June 2002 at 14:16.
    Dr. Mordrid
    ----------------------------
    An elephant is a mouse built to government specifications.

    I carry a gun because I can't throw a rock 1,250 fps

  2. #2
    FanBoy GT98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,497

    Default

    Hey Doc,

    I'm getting my Asus A7S333 (SIS 745 board ) board in tommorow and I'm putting in a Promise RAID controller in it. Whats the best bet to place the RAID controller in which slot? Number 2?

    Should be interesting compairing the Asus, MSI (Greebe has one) and now the ECS boards....


    Scott
    Last edited by GT98; 10th June 2002 at 06:40.
    Why is it called tourist season, if we can't shoot at them?

  3. #3
    Super MURCer Greebe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Bradenton, Florida
    Posts
    8,697

    Cool

    I do believe they support upto 3 gigs of onboard mem (mine does). Capable of some extremely high FSB speeds (mines running 187 atm), great PCI bus bandwidth (peachy).

    The only thing I don't like about mine... position of the IDE/floppy ports as they are truely a s t r e t c h when used in a full tower case and a more configurable BIOS as far as mem configuration goes... also MSI insists that AMI messed up when they incorporated APIC 1.4 as an option (applies to dual or greater systems only)

    what I like... stability!!! (at a small cost in performance) and no driver issues (unlike VIA)
    "Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter, and those who matter don't mind." -- Dr. Seuss

    "Always do good. It will gratify some and astonish the rest." ~Mark Twain

  4. #4
    Super MURCer Nuno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    2,167

    Thumbs up

    what I like... stability!!! (at a small cost in performance) and no driver issues (unlike VIA)

    Agree 250%!

  5. #5
    Moderator Dr Mordrid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    26,102

    Default

    The APIC support works fine on my single CPU boards that have it. While it does have features that dualies can use it's not meant for them ONLY. Where dualie APIC boards differ is that each CPU will have its own APIC chip.

    The trick is that the OS should be installed with APIC active so Windows2K SP-2/XP can configure itself properly. Once that is done interrupt handling gets MUCH faster and smoother.

    More on APIC: http://www.microsoft.com/HWDEV/PLATF...oc/IO-APIC.asp

    Dr. Mordrid
    Last edited by Dr Mordrid; 10th June 2002 at 05:00.
    Dr. Mordrid
    ----------------------------
    An elephant is a mouse built to government specifications.

    I carry a gun because I can't throw a rock 1,250 fps

  6. #6
    Administrator Sasq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Other side of the boonies, Australia
    Posts
    4,774

    Default

    Naa these boards are restricted to 1.5GB of memory (well at least according to the manual)

    Dan
    Juu nin to iro


    English doesn't borrow from other languages. It follows them down dark alleys, knocks them over, and goes through their pockets for loose grammar.

  7. #7
    Moderator Dr Mordrid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    26,102

    Default

    1.0 gig for the K7S5A and 1.0 or 1.5 for the K7S6A, depending on the chips you use.

    Dr. Mordrid
    Dr. Mordrid
    ----------------------------
    An elephant is a mouse built to government specifications.

    I carry a gun because I can't throw a rock 1,250 fps

  8. #8
    MS Fanboy Gurm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Where can you see lions?
    Posts
    11,713

    Default

    Sucks. I knew there was a reason I bought MSI.

    3GB limit, here. Not that Crucial is making 1GB sticks yet.

    - Gurm
    The Internet - where men are men, women are men, and teenage girls are FBI agents!

    I'm the least you could do
    If only life were as easy as you
    I'm the least you could do, oh yeah
    If only life were as easy as you
    I would still get screwed

  9. #9
    FanBoy GT98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,497

    Default

    ASUS A7S333:

    3GB @ PC2100
    2GB @ PC2700


  10. #10
    FanBoy GT98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,497

    Default

    Question for you guys with the MSI board...does it support the PC2700 in all three slots? On my Asus Board it doesnt only PC2100 Speed in all three
    Why is it called tourist season, if we can't shoot at them?

  11. #11
    Moderator az's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    10,122

    Default

    Is that important for real life or just bragging rights?

    AZ

  12. #12
    Administrator Sasq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Other side of the boonies, Australia
    Posts
    4,774

    Default

    from my K7S6A manual ... each slot can support 512MB with a total 1.0GB (2 unbuffered DDR333 DIMM) or 1.5GB (3 unbuffered DDR266/DDR200 DIMM)


    Dan
    Juu nin to iro


    English doesn't borrow from other languages. It follows them down dark alleys, knocks them over, and goes through their pockets for loose grammar.

  13. #13
    Super MURCer Greebe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Bradenton, Florida
    Posts
    8,697

    Cool

    Doc is that APIC v1.1 or APIC 1.4.. the 6561 has both! (Oops)

  14. #14
    Moderator Dr Mordrid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    26,102

    Default

    Not much difference really. 1.4 is just a bit tighter of a spec and both are supported by the current Intel APIC chip. APIC is Intel property. OpenPIC is supported by other companies but no mainboards I know of use it.

    Once you have APIC & ACPI on and the OS installed this is what you see in Device Control (the other GA-7VRX system here just because I already have an image of it);



    The blacked out entries are (classified)

    Dr. Mordrid

    Last edited by Dr Mordrid; 10th June 2002 at 22:40.
    Dr. Mordrid
    ----------------------------
    An elephant is a mouse built to government specifications.

    I carry a gun because I can't throw a rock 1,250 fps

  15. #15
    MURCer mdhome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK, Milton Keynes
    Posts
    852

    Default

    Scott
    Let me know how you fare with the Asus because it looks like a nice board. I recently bought one because it had thermal protection for the CPU. Unfortunately I am in the process of RMA'ing it because it had issues with the disk drives ie failing to boot. There also appears to be some bios issues that can cause it to lock up whilst in PnP mode.


    Regards Michael
    Interests include:
    Computing, Reading, Pubs, Restuarants, Pubs, Curries, More Pubs and more Curries

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 1000 hands
    By Brian Ellis in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th July 2009, 07:20
  2. Why Women have two hands
    By GT98 in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 15th June 2004, 16:14
  3. ECS K7S6A jumper question
    By Admiral in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 9th December 2002, 14:39
  4. ECS K7S6A third sensor
    By TnT in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th July 2002, 19:55
  5. Got too much money on your hands ?
    By Maggi in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th October 2000, 00:19

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •