Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: VT 3.1b upgrade help

  1. #1
    mini MURCer
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Oneonta NY USA
    Posts
    34

    Question VT 3.1b upgrade help

    Good Morning I am about to upgrade my VT from 3.0 to 3.1b and am unsure how to proceed. My system has been so good that I haven't had the opportunity to learn much about negotiating my way around. (Thank goodness). Are there instructions for uninstalling and installing the new set in one place anywhere? On my G400-TV I had to do display drivers and VTs as a set. Is this different. I am running W2k with RT 2000. (I'm not very versed in W2K either as my other set up was in 98se.) If anyone could point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it. Thanks Leslie
    Bhanga

  2. #2
    Moderator Dr Mordrid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    25,813

    Default

    Just use the Video Tools menu item to uninstall 3.0. Install 3.1b after the mandatory reboot. I had no problems with the upgrade on my RT-2000.

    If you're the paranoid type you might want to do a system drive backup so you can go back to 3.0 if necessary.

    Dr. Mordrid
    Dr. Mordrid
    ----------------------------
    An elephant is a mouse built to government specifications.

    I carry a gun because I can't throw a rock 1,250 fps

  3. #3
    mini MURCer
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Oneonta NY USA
    Posts
    34

    Exclamation error while uninstalling VTs

    Hi I have started to uninstall VT 3.0 (RT2000) so I can upgrade to 3.1b and got the following message:
    "One or more files did not properly self register.
    The following files did not self-register.
    1-C:\WINNT\System32\MXTGAReader.dll
    a dynamic link library (DLL) initialization routine failed."

    Has anyone seen this or know what it implies I don't know whether to Select OK to continue anyway or Cancel.


    Thanks Leslie
    Bhanga

  4. #4
    MURC Writer Elie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,653

    Default

    The original installation may not have ben done correctly sooo, I suggest you continue with the installation then uninstall and again reinstall.

    This way you'll make sure all files are completely gone and reinstalled properly.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. The Upgrade
    By Sasq in forum Portal Polls
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 3rd December 2007, 02:25
  2. Now THIS is an UPGRADE!
    By Fat Tone in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10th May 2006, 00:06
  3. Need upgrade Help
    By GT98 in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th May 2004, 14:35
  4. When to upgrade?
    By Liquid Snake in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14th January 2003, 07:33
  5. What upgrade ?
    By CHHAS in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st January 2000, 17:53

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •