Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Opera 6.0

  1. #1
    Super MURCer KeiFront's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,797
    Main: Dual Xeon LV2.4Ghz@3.1Ghz | 3X21" | NVidia 6800 | 2Gb DDR | SCSI
    Second: Dual PIII 1GHz | 21" Monitor | G200MMS + Quadro 2 Pro | 512MB ECC SDRAM | SCSI
    Third: Apple G4 450Mhz | 21" Monitor | Radeon 8500 | 1,5Gb SDRAM | SCSI

  2. #2

    Thumbs up

    Thanks !
    Seth, are you ok? I`m peachy Kate. The world is my oyster. - Seth Gecko

  3. #3
    Moderator VJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Belgium/Poland
    Posts
    9,538

    Default

    Thanks !
    Does this one display the matroxusers forum correctly ?


    Jörg

  4. #4
    Moderator VJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Belgium/Poland
    Posts
    9,538

    Thumbs up

    I just tested it (this is posted from within Opera6).

    So it works !


    Jörg

  5. #5
    MURCer Kosh Naranek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    498

    Default

    I HATE Add-Ware !
    Fear, Makes Wise Men Foolish !
    incentivize transparent paradigms

  6. #6

    Default

    Thats simple to solve pay for it and no more ads.
    Chief Lemon Buyer no more Linux sucks but not as much
    Weather nut and sad git.

    My Weather Page

  7. #7
    Super MURCer KeiFront's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,797

    Default

    Originally posted by Kosh Naranek
    I HATE Add-Ware !
    Then use mozilla: http://www.mozilla.org/releases/
    Main: Dual Xeon LV2.4Ghz@3.1Ghz | 3X21" | NVidia 6800 | 2Gb DDR | SCSI
    Second: Dual PIII 1GHz | 21" Monitor | G200MMS + Quadro 2 Pro | 512MB ECC SDRAM | SCSI
    Third: Apple G4 450Mhz | 21" Monitor | Radeon 8500 | 1,5Gb SDRAM | SCSI

  8. #8

    Default

    Some banking sites that don't work in IE work in Opera.
    So I like Opera quite a bit.

    < snipped unnecessary anti-opera rant from radsoft.net >
    < if you want to read it go to <a href="http://www.radsoft.net/resources/software/reviews/blacklist.html">radsoft</a> >
    Last edited by orangejulius; 1st December 2001 at 08:48.

  9. #9
    MURCer Kosh Naranek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    498

    Default

    Sure I could buy it ! But why should I ? I've already got an Internet Browser which for me Is working flawlessly, namely I.E 6 !
    Fear, Makes Wise Men Foolish !
    incentivize transparent paradigms

  10. #10
    MURCer Kosh Naranek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    498

    Default

    Regarding the Banking Sites Issue :

    Have you tried adjusting the privacy settings to allow those sites to use cookies ?

    I.E 6 blocks those kind of cookies as a default, but you can manually allow sites to put cookies on your computer or you can set your privacy settings to low !
    Fear, Makes Wise Men Foolish !
    incentivize transparent paradigms

  11. #11

    Default

    Have you tried adjusting the privacy settings to allow those sites to use cookies ? -Kosh Naranek
    Good suggestion, but it's not a cookie problem.
    To get some banking sites to work in IE, you have
    to fiddle with IE's SSL/TLS settings.

    Opera works fine out of the box.

    --

    More good things about Opera:

    <ul>
    <li>you can set a minimum font size
    <li>you can press F12 and <a href="http://www.opera.com/graphics/press/guides/600pref_quick.png">turn off popups</a>
    <li>you can use one of the included <a href="http://people.opera.com/~rijk/" title="scroll to bottom">sample styles</a>, like <a href="http://people.opera.com/~rijk/stylesheets/ultramarine.css" title="gold hover links on a navy blue background (matrox colors for every site)">ultramarine.css</a>
    </ul>

    Also, check out the <a href="http://www.opera.com/press/guides/operapower/">Top 5 Opera Power Tools</a>.
    Last edited by orangejulius; 30th November 2001 at 16:05.

  12. #12
    Super MURCer CHHAS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,246

    Unhappy

    Opera 6 looks really nice, unfortunately it won't cooperate with my webmail
    "That's right fool! Now I'm a flying talking donkey!"

    P4 2.66, 512 mb PC2700, ATI Radeon 9000, Seagate Barracude IV 80 gb, Acer Al 732 17" TFT

  13. #13

    Default

    I have been using Opera for a while and find that it works well. However on some sites links do not work and give a Java script void error. Anyone know a way around this?

    DJ

  14. #14

    Default

    DJ, what you might do is send the webmaster of the site
    a short note, something like:

    <blockquote>
    Hello, I've noticed a small error on your page,
    located on [ line ] at [ url ]. The error is: [ error ].

    You can reproduce the error by opening [ url ]
    in the Opera web browser.

    You may be able to fix it by following <a href="http://tech.irt.org/articles/js169/#4.13">JavaScript Best Practices</a>,
    or consulting <a href="http://www.opera.com/docs/specs/js/">Opera's JS documents</a>.

    Thanks for your help!
    </blockquote>

    Hopefully the webmaster will respond and do something about it.
    In the meantime, you can press F12 to turn off JS, and use the
    [ noscript ] version of the page.
    Last edited by orangejulius; 1st December 2001 at 08:51.

  15. #15
    Super MURCer isochar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,119

    Default

    I'm giving 6.0 a try... and I've got a few questions:

    How do I...
    Arrange the button layout in the navbar?
    Move all the bars onto one line, so that they don't consume a lot of space?
    Set a specific directory to keep all bookmarks?
    Dock the hotlist when using SDI?
    Drag a URL to the desktop/folder?
    Get Opera to remember its size & position?

    Here are 2 questions I got answers to:

    Disable the splash screen?
    Go to opera6.ini and enter:
    [USER PREFS]
    SHOW SPLASH SCREEN=1

    Disable the Email/News/Chat in the Hotlist:
    Just set these fields in opera6.ini:
    [USER PREFS]
    Show News Client=0
    Show IM Client=0
    Show E-mail Client=0

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Opera 8.1 - [For the Opera Users Only :)]
    By dbdg in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th June 2005, 01:19
  2. Opera 7.54 is out
    By Paddy in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 25th October 2004, 02:38
  3. Opera
    By Gurm in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th September 2003, 02:26
  4. Opera 6.03!
    By Guru in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th May 2002, 00:14
  5. Opera 5.10 out!
    By az in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16th April 2001, 16:28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •