Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Hiding the stupid SETI icon in system bar

  1. #1
    MURCer Assimilator1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Ash,Surrey,UK
    Posts
    358

    Post

    CHAAS

    I know The_One personally ,he was (just left his old job)a network manager (something like that) at his job and therefore he has the authority to install programs as he wishes I believe.The reason that he hides them is to stop any users from interfering with them ,not to keep it covert from anyone above .
    Of course The_One is better qualified to answer so I'll see if I can get him to answer

  2. #2

    Post

    Missed you at our refugee thread in Off Topic on AT, Assim

    I thought you would be looking for some of us to show up there... snif

    Jord

  3. #3
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA, USA
    Posts
    520

    Question Hiding the stupid SETI icon in system bar

    Is there any way to hide the SETI icon when running the screensaver version.
    the Techs at school see then and shut it off...
    Ive already Disabled the ScreenSaver, but the damn icon is giving me away. Is there anyway to get ride of it. If so this means like 80 pIII 600's and 120 p233mmx crunching 24/7 for the team.... And me of course.

  4. #4
    Moderator Ees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Utrecht, Netherlands
    Posts
    453

    Post

    Dyre,

    I think Seti Spy will let you hide the command-line version, which would be even better.

    No first-hand experience though, and I dunno about hiding the screensaver version.

    Martin

  5. #5
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA, USA
    Posts
    520

    Question

    can the cmd version be set up to start on restarts and stuff?

    I dont have time to check on these systems, so they basically need to be started and work all the time by thmeselfs.... even after reboot. thats why im running the screensaver version now.

  6. #6
    MURCer Assimilator1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Ash,Surrey,UK
    Posts
    358

    Post

    Dyre

    Sh*t! I thought you were kidding when you said 80 PIII 600's! :Q
    *runs away & hides*

  7. #7
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA, USA
    Posts
    520

    Post

    But i need to get them running w/ out anyone knowing

    Nope on the NT thing, they all run 95 (Stupid School. i dont understand that)


  8. #8
    Super MURCer Maggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    somewhere lost in the middle of nowhere, L├╝neburger Heide, Germany
    Posts
    5,087

    Talking

    Isn't the screen blanker version capable of ... errrm ... blanking the screen ?

    Even the MAC version offers it, but 1 minute is the smallest timeframe before going to a black screen. I think the PC version offers immediate blanking.

    Screenblankers will extend the lifetime of your monitors ...

    ... snip ...

    D'oh !

    Hit me ... you were asking how to hide the icon ... Moooooo !

    Sorry, I slightly missed the target.

    But isn't the icon exchangeable like the big desktop ones ?
    If so, you could use any AntiVirus icon to get your ticket to the big WU crunching farm.

    CYa,
    Maggi

  9. #9
    Super MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,055

    Post

    If you are running Windows NT or 2000, it should be possible to install the SETI client as a system service. You can do this manually, or by using FireDaemon: http://www.firedaemon.com/

    Jan M.

  10. #10
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA, USA
    Posts
    520

    Post

    Oh Oh Oh!!!
    Now there is an idea!

  11. #11

    Cool

    Dyre, to answer one of your questions:

    Since you are running Windows 95, you can put the coomand line version in your startup folder and when the computer starts up, it will run the seti progrma everytime. As far as hiding it, not sure about that one.

    Dave

  12. #12

    Post

    Hey Dyre, I found this cool ass program that is exactly what you are looking for and more. Check it out.

    http://home1.pacific.net.sg/~ngkf/trayer/intro.htm

    Dave

  13. #13
    MURCer Assimilator1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Ash,Surrey,UK
    Posts
    358

    Post

    Dyre

    >>>Oh Oh Oh!!!
    Now there is an idea! <<<<

    Uh-oh!

    We're in trouble.....

  14. #14
    Super MURCer Maggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    somewhere lost in the middle of nowhere, L├╝neburger Heide, Germany
    Posts
    5,087

    Talking


  15. #15
    MURCer
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    128

    Exclamation

    Check this out, especially Dyre.
    http://anandforums.gisystech.com/mes...hreadid=166626

    The part I'm referring to starts 6 or so messages down.
    I'm not sure how strict the SETI program is about getting actual permission before running the client on machines that you don't own, but sounds like you might need to check it out.

    Hec

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Windows XP LAN system tray icon
    By daemorok in forum General Hardware/Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th January 2004, 07:32
  2. Ýcon in link bar?
    By Wulfman in forum Site Feedback
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th July 2001, 14:25
  3. Anyone know how to get rid of Seti Icon on Systray?
    By rocketmanx in forum Distributed@MURC
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 26th October 2000, 15:23
  4. Replies: 54
    Last Post: 26th July 2000, 17:50
  5. Stupid Stupid Stupid!!! If it ain't broke don't fix it!!!
    By Muad'Dib in forum Matrox Hardware
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 8th March 2000, 06:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •