PDA

View Full Version : g400max , PIII and q3test2 (1.06)



tombman
17th July 1999, 13:06
PLEASE COULD SOMEONE POST BENCHMARKS !!

I am interested in 1024*768*32 , 32 bit textures , AND ALL SETTINGS TO THE MAX ( EXCEPT ONLY BILINEAR AND ONLY SKY HIGH SPEED) on the map q3testdemo1.dm3 !!

DUAL TESTS are welcome too !

My System : PIII 558 (oc) , tnt2ultra (170/190) , 320 MB ram -----> 36,6 FPS !!

You should have a PIII and a g400max !

Donīt forget : ONLY SKY HIGH SPEED and BILINEAR all else FULL DETAIL , EVEN SOUND !

Mad man
18th July 1999, 06:16
Well I did the test as you asked on my Herc ultra and I got 46 fps. I have a celeron at 450.

tombman
18th July 1999, 08:15
At what speed is your herc clocked ?
Memory and core clock ??

Mad man
18th July 1999, 08:20
It is clocked at the default 175/200

tombman
18th July 1999, 08:44
I have my creative now at 170/215 (was 170/190) and now i get 41.5 FPS , but 46 is out of reach for me ;-)

I think the memory is good on my creative but the core is weak ;-)

I hope to reach 50 with an overclocked g400max ;-)

kettlerp
18th July 1999, 08:46
Why did you order the part before you knew how it performed?

This brings back memories of last summer, when everyone was hoping the G200 would rock in 3D, only to see it fall flat on its face. :-)

tombman
18th July 1999, 08:47
I forgot , i unfortunately cannot activate
fast memory timing in powerstrip (will crash no matter at what speed..Bios prob?)

My old tnt1 from diamond accepted fast memory timing ..

tombman
18th July 1999, 08:55
Kettler :i read the benchmarks at idīs benchmarking page and there the g400max got 30!! Fps at 1280*1024*32 with beta drivers on a piii500 !! I now have a piii558 and new drivers are out , so i think at 32 bit the g400max will ROCK !!!

violentg
18th July 1999, 11:04
joel could you please explain to me how you overclocked your g400 to 150/200 is there a setting around 150/180 could you maybe explain how to set up the dividers for these speeds.thanks

Joel
18th July 1999, 11:56
Using the G4SET utility which you can get under Utilities at the following URL

grafi.ii.pw.edu.pl/gbm/matrox (http://grafi.ii.pw.edu.pl/gbm/matrox)

I set
SClk to 300
GClk Div to 1/2 = 150
MClk Div to 2/3 = 200
WClk Div to 1/2 = 150

Joel http://forums.gagames.com/forums/smile.gif

tombman
18th July 1999, 16:01
Oh . COME ON GUYS , JUST ONE SINGLE F*CKING
BENCHMARK NUMBER !!!!! THAT TAKES NO MORE THAN 5 MINUTES !!!

Or is the g400max worse than a tnt2ultra ??
I have ordered one , SO PLEASE DONīT LET ME DOWN !!!!

Cu.......

Joel
18th July 1999, 16:24
The problem could be that not many people have a PIII running at 558 o/c. Plus I can tell you that based on the couple of hours that I spent on-line last night playing Q3test that the timedemo is IMO still broke.

Joel http://forums.gagames.com/forums/smile.gif

AMD K6-2/400 with the G400 o/c to 150/200.

tombman
18th July 1999, 16:47
I have tested myself A LOT with the new timedemo and i think it works perfectly now . All numbers show what i had expected .

If someone has a CPU faster than 500 Mhz IT WOULD BE OK TOO !!

SO PLEASE GIVE ME SOME NUMBERS !!!! (hehe)

rickT
19th July 1999, 05:22
marcel: something is messed up with g4set because I have the same problem

MarcelM
19th July 1999, 05:34
Yeah, I would say so.....

Annyway, there is something wrong with
the G400 OpenGL 2.

I read the performance of Tombman
36.6 FPS on an TNT2 Ultra.... Hmmmm

I only get, ahm.... hehhehe yeah, well
8 FPS at 1024 * 768 * 32 and all options set
2 high.... even the Sky and trilleniar filtering.....

Damn, what the heck is Matrox doin'????

Marcel

------------------
G400-16MB, Abit BX6 rev2, 96 MB, 6.4 GB Hdd (3x), Pent. II 350 Mhz (3.5 * 112)

MarcelM
19th July 1999, 08:16
Oooopssss....

my mistake.....

Well I played a little around with the settings, and if I leave the Texture Size on High, disable High quality sky and texture mode: GL linear MIPMAP Nearest
Texture Quality: 32 Bit
Color Depth : 32 Bit
resolution: 1024 * 768
and Billinear filtering

I get: 34 FPS with my G400 - 16 MB..... :-)
in the timedemo1
It's playable, and looks nice 2.....

But still, when I use Texture Size Highest
the performance drops like an fly..... :-(

But only after a second or 15 - 20....
The first 15 - 20 seconds the timedemo1 runs
good. After that is hopeless.......

What's goin' on here??????
Drivers????

MarcelM

------------------
G400-16MB, Abit BX6 rev2, 96 MB, 6.4 GB Hdd (3x), Pent. II 350 Mhz (3.5 * 112)

tombman
19th July 1999, 10:47
The texture size gets really BIG when set to the highest setting !!
So i think the 16 MB RAM is not enough and not the g400 !

Besides : Someone mailed me that he got 46 FPS on a herc tnt2ultra !
I boosted my creative tnt2ultra to 170/210
and got ~40 FPS at 1024*768*32 all details maxed out EXCEPT SKY OFF AND ONLY BILINEAR !

I hope to break the 50 FPS barrier with a g400max and my PIII558 ;-)

Now i play at 16 BIT at 55 FPS and when i can get this at 32 bit i will change ;-)

Cu..........

p.s.: FOR ALL THE OTHERS : GIVE ME NUMBERS !!!!! (quake3test2 32 Bit 1024*768*32 all settings at the max , only sky off and bilinear !!)

NOYB2
19th July 1999, 13:13
"PLEASE COULD SOMEONE POST BENCHMARKS !!
I am interested in 1024*768*32 , 32 bit textures , AND ALL SETTINGS TO THE MAX ( EXCEPT ONLY BILINEAR AND ONLY SKY HIGH SPEED) on the map q3testdemo1.dm3 !!"

Sure thing.

"DUAL TESTS are welcome too !"

Okie Doke

"My System : PIII 558 (oc) , tnt2ultra (170/190) , 320 MB ram -----> 36,6 FPS !!"

My system: dual celeron 512 MHz, tnt2 ultra 150/183, 128 MB ram -------> 35 FPS!!

Just so you know. SMP makes almost no difference.

"You should have a PIII and a g400max !"

Sorry man. I cancelled my G400 MAX when it became apparent the wait was going to be ridiculous.

"Donīt forget : ONLY SKY HIGH SPEED and BILINEAR all else FULL DETAIL , EVEN SOUND !"

Did just that.

What can you get from these results?

TNT2 Ultra is the holdup.

Scotty! We need more power!!!

tombman
19th July 1999, 14:32
TnT2 is the holdup ?

YES and that is why i will get a g400max .
I am sure it will be by the end of july or the beginning of august !

I overclocked my tnt2u even further (170/215) and it is clear that the fps is rising LINEAR with the mem clock !!

Now it is 42 FPS !! (instead of 37 !)

Cu........

MarcelM
19th July 1999, 16:59
Hi Joel,

I use g200clk /1 300
I get much better framerates then when I would use g4set.

I did like u wrote:
g4set -sclk 300 -div 1/2 2/3 1/2
Now I get only 16.02 FPS in Q3testdemo 1
at 800 * 600 * 32
When I use g200clk /1 300
I get 35.7 FPS using 800 * 600 * 32

Marcel

------------------
G400-16MB, Abit BX6 rev2, 96 MB, 6.4 GB Hdd (3x), Pent. II 350 Mhz (3.5 * 112)

Zyn
19th July 1999, 17:34
I just got done downloading Q3atest2.
Me and my G400Max will do a little benchmarking tommarrow and I will post it.
Patience is a virtue. I guess you never heard of that.

NOYB2
20th July 1999, 15:47
Patience is a virtue is a nice saying, but Fools rush in, is another.

Please do post your results on you card.