Anyone using a trackball ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone using a trackball ?

I've just bought a Microsoft Trackball Explorer. It seems like a very good device, I just wonder how long it'll take me to get used to it ?

Right now I'm having a lot of trouble aiming in UT, so I've confined myself to practice sessions until my aim improves. I wouldn't want to get multikilled online

I've got a week to decide if I want to return it, so I'll definetely give it a go.
    "That's right fool! Now I'm a flying talking donkey!"

P4 2.66, 512 mb PC2700, ATI Radeon 9000, Seagate Barracude IV 80 gb, Acer Al 732 17" TFT

I've been using a Logitech Trackman marble FX for a few years now. It may not be the best for FPS games but I like it.

Paul
    "Never interfere with the enemy when he is in the process of destroying himself"

Comment

I have had a Logitech Trackman Marble FX for couple of years too.

Had a Kensington Trackball prior to that but their software didn't get along with something in my system and would cause me grief about 30% of the time.

They do take a bit to get use to though. I get less fatigued when using it compared to a regular mouse. Since I rarely do games, the Trackball is not an issue for me.

MSI K7D Master L, Water Cooled, All SCSI
      Modded XP2000's @ 1800 (12.5 x 144 FSB)
      512MB regular Crucial PC2100
      Matrox P
      X15 36-LP Cheetahs In RAID 0
      LianLiPC70

Comment

Isn't the Marble thumbcontrolled ?
        The Trackball Explorer is index finger controlled, which I find much better than the thumbcontrolled devices.
        As for gaming, my guess is that a trackball can be just as good as a mouse, with practice, of course

P4 2.66, 512 mb PC2700, ATI Radeon 9000, Seagate Barracude IV 80 gb, Acer Al 732 17" TFT

Comment

The original marble is Thumb-Controlled.

The Marble F/X is finger/thumb controlled (your choice).

I use my fingers for the F/X.