Which notebook to buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which notebook to buy?

Im thinking of buying a notebook since I think it would be an asset in my studies. Since I do not know very much about this area I hope someone has an informed opinion

The criteria is as follows:
    No gaming - this is strictly wordprocessing.
    It has to have a tft display
    A minimum of 64 mb of ram
    And of course a few gb of hdd for all those nifty programs.
    Since Im a student I do not have a fortune to spend

At the moment I would prefer an IBM, but I was wondering, is ASUS any good? Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
    Jesper
    System:
    Asus A7V rev. 1.01p bios 1011
    AMD Thunderbird 800
    SBLive retail with liveware 3.0
    Matrox g400 MAX pd 6.51
    LG Flatron 795FT 17" monitor
    IBM 13.5 GB 7200 hdd
    Pioneer 106-s dvdrom
    WinME
    directx 8.0a
    384mb pc133

You're thinking about it wrong.

You want brand-name. The bigger the better.

Why? Support.

ASUS is a fine laptop, no question. Also it uses industry standard parts so if you want to put a new OS on there (Win2k, Linux) the drivers will be less of an issue.

HOWEVER, if your laptop breaks, IBM will have you a new one in a couple of days, airlifted from the factory to you. Swap the hard drives, and bingo! new laptop.

ASUS RMA's take a bit longer.

I can personally highly recommend new Compaqs (they've gotten better, honest) and NEC laptops.

- Gurm

------------------
    Listen up, you primitive screwheads! See this? This is my BOOMSTICK! Etc. etc.
    The Internet - where men are men, women are men, and teenage girls are FBI agents!

I'm the least you could do
    If only life were as easy as you
    I'm the least you could do, oh yeah
    I would still get screwed

Comment