PDA

View Full Version : BIOS message..what does this mean?



oceaneer
5th December 2000, 09:28
Anytime I increase the FSB over 115 I get this:

Award Bootblock Bios v1.0
BIOS ROM checksum error
Detecting floppy drive A media
Insert system disc and press enter

Here it locks up and I have to reboot and drop back to 115FSB.

BIOS is:
08/08/2000 I440BX-W977-6A69KA19C-UH
System specs below. Stock P3 cooling, no o/c on G400, Mushkin pc 133 ram, no conflicts, all IRQ's fine. Increasing cpu voltage does nothing. PCI@1/3, AGP@2/3

What up??

------------------
P3 650@750 on ABIT BE6 r2, 192M RAM, G400 32m DH oem, 5.52 drivers, Voodoo II in SLI, Aureal SQ2500, 30G Maxtor DMax 7200 ATA 66, 300W PS

uberlad
5th December 2000, 09:35
It means that the machine is so messed up that the BIOS can't even check its own integrity correctly. The BIOS decides that it's corrupt and asks you to insert the BIOS rebuilding disc that everyone has lying around.

I get this if I run my memory too fast, except my machine doesn't come back 'cso it's all overclocked in software.

Last time I had to clear my CMOS to get it going again.

In short - it's bad and means that your FSB is running as fast as it's gonna.

I reckon

Uberlad

------------------
-------------------------
8 out of 10 women say they would feel no qualms about hitting a man.
5 out of 10 referred to me by name.

oceaneer
5th December 2000, 10:58
Well, aren't you a little ray of sunshine http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

Just like that, it's all over for me?? This was a new bios chip, too. Just got it as a freebee from ABIT.

There really isn't any way around this?

cheers anyway

------------------
P3 650@750 on ABIT BE6 r2, 192M RAM, G400 32m DH oem, 5.52 drivers, Voodoo II in SLI, Aureal SQ2500, 30G Maxtor DMax 7200 ATA 66, 300W PS

Greebe
5th December 2000, 11:26
oceaneer, what uberlad is trying to say is that your MB can't handle these speeds for whatever reason(s) (mem / cpu crapping out most likely), so the fix to get around this IS to clock the cpu lower.

The PIT
5th December 2000, 11:58
I'd have thought you could have gone faster than 115 fsb. It could mean that you've got another component in the system that doesn't like being overclocked.
Try pci bus at 1/4 then go up. Also try clocking back your memory if possible. At some point you will have to raise the vcore.
If still no/Or try the machine with just the g400 and see what happens. If it works then add your hardware back one by one.
On a abit f6 I got a 650 to 806mhz could have gone higher but unknown to me the network card was holding it back. On a friends machine it's now doing 900mhz.

oceaneer
5th December 2000, 18:58
Greebe: Yes, I see what you mean.

PIT: Right, I'll give that a go; I can borrow some different mem chips and sub them as well.

Thanks guys

------------------
P3 650@750 on ABIT BE6 r2, 192M RAM, G400 32m DH oem, 5.52 drivers, Voodoo II in SLI, Aureal SQ2500, 30G Maxtor DMax 7200 ATA 66, 300W PS

cjolley
6th December 2000, 07:24
oceaneer,
Have you flashed the new bios chip?
Clock down to normal speed & flash the bios.
I have a BE6-II V2 that runs happily at 142mz fsb using the Mushkin PC133 and a P3-650.
Why did Abit send you a new bios chip?
chuck


------------------
ABit BE6-2 V2, P3-650@923, 256mb@142cas3, 2x45gig IBM 75GXP striped raid array, SB Live Value@3.0, Pioneer 104s DVD, Mitsumi CDRW@2x2x8, Acatel 1000 ADSL@1.5mb/sec, Linksys EtherFast NIC, LG 995e, USB mouse,Matrox G400 MAX!!!! :D

oceaneer
7th December 2000, 11:22
cjolley: No, I havn't flashed this bios yet(it is the latest UH version) Should I?.

ABIT said that there was a problem with my previous chip because when I tried to flash it it came back with an error message. (The screen ID would not match the flash.) Yes, I was using the correct bios!!

The machine ran fine though, but I had not gotten around to o/c higher than 115FSB, so I don't know if this new BIOS chip is the culprit.


------------------
P3 650@750 on ABIT BE6 r2, 192M RAM, G400 32m DH oem, 5.52 drivers, Voodoo II in SLI, Aureal SQ2500, 30G Maxtor DMax 7200 ATA 66, 300W PS