Video surveillance camera conected to PC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Video surveillance camera conected to PC

A friend at work would like to be able to see or watch the front entryway to his home from his PC. This would involve about 100+ ft of cable to go from the front of his house to the back where his office is located.

What would be the easiest(cheapest) way to do this from his PC????

Paul
    "Never interfere with the enemy when he is in the process of destroying himself"

There is great free software that you can download. As long as you have a video capture card and a camera, you are pretty much set. I've actually set it up before and there was nothing to it. I assume it would probably work w/ USB cameras as well. These programs are cool cuz they will detect motion as well. here is a link to one of them, although I've never used it before.

http://www.zincware.com/

Dave
    Ladies and gentlemen, take my advice, pull down your pants and slide on the ice.

Comment

Thanks Dave,

Will most web cams work if run through 100+ ft of cable?? That would be the least expensive camera to use rather than the more expensive CCD cameras ?? His main problem would be splicing and running that great a length of cable.

Paul
      "Never interfere with the enemy when he is in the process of destroying himself"

Comment

I guess it would depend on the cable. Coax cable is cool cuz it can travel enough distance to where a house shouldn't be a prob. If it is a USB camera, you might have a problem there since it is a USB cable. I doubt there is USB cable long enough even if it did work.

Dave
        Ladies and gentlemen, take my advice, pull down your pants and slide on the ice.

Comment

USB cams seem to be limited to about 5 Meter of cable - If you want more there are UTP network cable converters available - cant remember where I came across that though

------------------
          Lawrence
          Lawrence

Comment

ALBPM,