Finally!! Got my MCSE

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finally!! Got my MCSE

I took the sixth exam on Saturday and got my confirmation e-mail from Microsoft this morning.

Overall, I think I did pretty well. On the six exams, I got 3 A's, 2 B's and 1 I'm not sure, but I think its an A. My Enterprise exam was adaptive (which means you get rewarded with harder questions as you correctly answer easier ones and you can't review your answers once you move to the next question). I scored 120% of passing but still only 674 on Microsoft's wierd scoring system for adaptives.

The hardest exam was Internet Information Server. It had 6 questions out of 55 on integration with SQL Server and I admit, I have never used SQL before. The error messages the test asked to decipher were not covered in any of the three textbooks I used. Oh well, I'll settle for a B on that test. If any of you are thinking about taking IIS as an elective, you might want to consider something a little easier, like Proxy Server.

I also got my A+ certification just to show prospective employers that I also know my way around inside a computer. One employer I talked too said that new MCSE's are often short on knowledge about how to fix everyday computer problems, so I thought the A+ thing might at least show I can fix computers as well as network them.

Now comes the hard part - getting a job with the new certifications. I hope this isn't too difficult. The tests overall were not easy. But finding a good job might be harder than they were.

RAB
    MCSE, A+
    AMD K6III-450; Epox EP-MVP3G5; G400DH32; Maxtor 10gig UDMA66; 128meg PC100; Aureal SQ2500 sound; PCI Modem Blaster; Linksys 10/100 NIC; Mag 800V 19"; AL ACS54 4 speaker sound; Logitech wireless mouse; Logitech Wingman Extreme (great for lefties)

Good job!

Now go make your millions
    jim
    System 1:
    AMD 1.4 AYJHA-Y factory unlocked @ 1656 with Thermalright SK6 and 7k Delta fan
    Epox 8K7A
    2x256mb Micron pc-2100 DDR