Need Help: Building cheap rig for game server

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help: Building cheap rig for game server

Alright, yesterday I set up a CS server for any MURCers who play CS. It's a very old machine (P166, 32MB RAM), and was quite laggy with 8 people (bandwidth was not a problem). So I thought about building a cheap (<$1000) rig. I want a dual-proc rig (CPU 1 = server, CPU 2 = SETI).

Here's what I have so far:
    PC Power & Cooling Personal Mid-Tower ($59)
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 275W ATX ($99)
    2 P3-533EB (~$120 each)
    2 Mushkin PC133 64MB modules (~$75 each)
    IBM 75GXP 15GB HD (~$110)
    Matrox Millenium I 2MB ($0, have an old one lying around)
    3Com 3C905B-TX-NM NIC (~$45)

Well, I still need a dual-proc mobo. Any suggestions? I also considered an AMD rig, but I have little experience with AMD machines (except the crap ones at school) and I'm not sure if there are any dual-proc mobos. But the AMD CPUs are VERY cheap compared to the Intel CPUs.

Currently there is no dual CPU mboards for AMD processors. But within a month or two AMD will release the AMD760MP chipset which will enable multiprocessor systems for Durons and Tbirds.

Comment

Matrox has not released any W2K drivers for Millenium I.

Comment

Guess I'll have to go the Intel route.

Don't worry, I'm running Linux, and its only text-mode, so I'm not too concerned about what video card I'm using, but I just had an old Millenium I lying around.

Comment

Sounded like you were going to run Win2K. Linux does SMP?

Comment

Yeah, because I already have Linux. Anyway, Linux is good for small/medium servers (exactly what a game server is). The current Linux kernel (2.2) does SMP, and I heard the SMP will be improved in 2.4 (coming soon). The HL dedicated server doesn't support SMP, neither does SETI, but I know you can tell SETI CLI which CPU to use. So then server will, by default, take CPU 1. Then I assign SETI to CPU 2.