Networking for Dummies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Networking for Dummies

I was wondering if someone could recommend a book, something well written, that explains the different protocols, ports, methodoloy, definitions, etc. and, maybe provides some history.

I'm not looking for a guide on how to set up a network in Windows. I've done that. All this talk about hacking the MURC, port scans, etc., has got me wondering about this stuff. For instance, I know what a port scan is and why it is done, but I haven't the faintest idea of how to do it. Hacking is just a mystery to me.

I've been messing with PC's for about three years, and I have no formal computer science or engineering background. I'm just a hobbiest, so I'm looking for something that covers the basics. If the book is too technical, and presumes prior knowledge that I just don't have, it'll probably go right over my head.

I guess I'm looking for something as broad as possible, written in something approaching plain English. Does such a book exist?

Thanks.

Paul
    paulcs@flashcom.net

Hell, I'm a professional computer tech and I don't know who to port scan and hack...well, I know some hacking tricks, but not enough that I could take down a remote computer. If I can compromise physical security I can hack almost anything, but that's part of my job

I'm sure there are a ton of hacker resources on the web. I've never looked for them, but I hear of them all the time. Go to a warez site and you should be able to dig a few up.

Jammrock

------------------
    Athlon 650, Biostar board, 128 MB PC133 (Crucial), G400 32 MB DH, SB Live! w/ Digital I/O, 10/100 NIC, lots of case fans, etc...
    “Inside every sane person there’s a madman struggling to get out”
    –The Light Fantastic, Terry Pratchett

Comment

http://www.fm.cornell.edu/computer/security/index.html

Comment