Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Building another system. Need help DESPERATELY!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building another system. Need help DESPERATELY!!!

I'm rebuilding my grandma's old computer (she just got my old one) for my dad for him to do some excel work with (I don't know why he doesn't want to use his p3 600 for it, but anyway....). It's a POS socket 3 (p1?) 133 I think with a POS mobo. I can't even figure out what it is or who makes it. It's got 6 isa slots and a couple of something elses (not sure what). The drives plug into an ISA card and I think I need to install that without an os, but I don't know how. It will boot up until right after it checks the BIOS and says "wait..." and then it freezes. What do I do? I've never built a POS this old before....

Thanks for the help.

Dimitri
    "The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and all science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: His eyes are closed"
    --- Albert Einstein

"Drag racing is for people that don't know how to brake and downshift at the same time."

The last time I installed an OS on a machine like that, I had to install CD-ROM drivers after installing DOS. Windows 98, of course, has CD-ROM drivers, but maybe nothing that old.

I'm just guessing. It was a long time ago.

I installed Windows 3.11 on the machine I mentioned. You might want to consider installing Windows 95 instead of Windows 98. And if you can find the driver disks for that machine, all the better.

See if you can determine the make of the CD-ROM and do a search for the drivers. If you find them, install DOS, install the drivers, and then try installing Windows.

Paul
    paulcs@flashcom.net

Comment