How does Fiber Optic carry data?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How does Fiber Optic carry data?

I understand how it works inside a processor - gates and such.

I understand that fiber optic cables carry light, which carries data, but how does it work? A friend says if the light is on, that's equiv to a 1 and if it's off, it's equiv to a 0.

In addition, how do multiple signals exist in a fiber at the same time? Over a phone line, there's packets of information which enables them to be routed and interspersed with other packets going elsewhere.

I'm no engineer (I can't even play one very well in TFC), so please try to keep the explanation to where a lay person might be able to understand it.

Thanks in advance.
    PIII 550@605
    IWill Motherboard VD133
    VIA Chipset
    512MB PC133 CAS2 Crucial
    G400 DH 32MB (6.51 Drivers)
    DirectX 8.0a
    SB Live! Value
    8x DVD (Toshiba)
    6x4x24 CDRW (Sony)
    Intel Pro/100+ NIC
    3Com CMX Cable Modem
    Optiquest V95 19"
    HP 812C Color Ink Jet
    Microtek flatbed scanner
    Intellimouse Explorer
    Surround Sound w/two subwoofers
    AND WAY TOO MANY GAMES!!!

I work at a large US telecom company in the midst of 300 engineers so I have received a lot of insight on the subject. I will attempt to write as untechnical as I can, and explain technical terms as best I can, but no promises.

Most fiber optic systems carry information much like a radio does. Although the on/off technique is used quite a bit, it involves a lot of extremely complex timing circuits, even more so than other techniques. We are talking atomic clock accuracy! In truth, most telecom companies will use a combination of the techniques I am describing. Basically all they do is modulate (modulate basically means to alter a frequency, intensity or phase of a carrier frequency slightly to carry information) the laser using one of several techniques, in combination with or in place of the on/off thing.