Improving audio reproduction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Improving audio reproduction

I've been doing highend audio - Pro audio for eons now (>35 years) and have a few suggestions for getting the most out of what you have. With the addition of software and a calibrated mic like UMIK-1 sold by miniDSP (or similar like PE Omni mic or UMM6) can be used.

I'm primarily using ARTA, HOLMImpulse and REW. Many features overlap functions of others, yet all do not do everything the other does ie 3 apps cover 99.9%.
    Between these, many features are used for designing speakers, but like with REW specifically, one can compensate for the room which does horrific things to sound reproduction. Know where to place that sub, sats, etc. and the manufacture says here how to... pfff WRONG 99% of the time. Hate those standing wave nodes/modes this is the ONLY way outside of changing your room around a million times to see what works best. Yeah right

FYI do not use a single sub, but rather a min. of three. One is placed in a corner, one along a side wall and most important one no more than 1/3 of the way down the wall measured from the ceiling! This balancing act has todo with standing waves and room modes corresponding to Heigth/Width/Depth... and then to windows/doors/adjaceint rooms/hallways, and then to the dampening coeffceints of EVERYTHING! You can solve some of these on a calculator or with gross experience, but without direct measurment is only a guess at best (though can be an extremely good guess with experience.