So I started learning Japanese

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So I started learning Japanese

In life I act on triggers and impulses for the things I like to do and it has been very rewarding. This is how I decided to learn Russian and decided to go on a few trips.

So triggers are:
    - With whole country going under I need a bit of Japanese spirit. Like that WW2 soldier on some island who surendered only sometime in 1970's. (only to direct such effort at something meaningful)
    - I really like Japanese movies and one of my favourite bands (Asobi Seksu) has lots of Japanese songs, so I picked up quite a few words already without much effort
    - 2 years ago I got drunk with some Japanese designer with great sense of humour and I'd like to follow his thoughts and comments on design - Google translate sucks big time.
    - I have a Japanese neighbour, so every time I meet her I exchange a few words. I'm still at very beginner level, so I can just greet, ask how are you and I asked her name
    - Some girl at the office studied Chinese so she might be of help with kanji
    - It's very different from the 5 languages I'm fluent in, so it's challenging and studying occupies my mind enough that I forget about problems.

So, presently I learned hiragana (took about 8h in 10 days) and went through some introductory free online lessons. Also Japanese punk rock is now blasting from my car ("Boku Panku Rokku ga suki na!" ) I'll see how long it takes, it took me about 3 years with Russian to express myself at satisfactory level.

Enjoy the videos and music you love, upload original content, and share it all with friends, family, and the world on YouTube.

Enjoy the videos and music you love, upload original content, and share it all with friends, family, and the world on YouTube.

"For every action, there is an equal and opposite criticism."

Comment

Brilliant!