Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• electrical wiring

Hello,

I have just discovered this weird thing in my apartment. I have a light switch that switches on two spotlights (GU10 fitting). Currently, there is one ledlamp and one halogen lamp (previous tennants). So I decided to replace the halogen one with another led lamp. And this happens:
    - remove the halogen lamp -> other (led) lamp lights up very faintly (lightswitch is off!)
    - screw in a led lamp -> other lamp goes out, but this one lights up faintly (lightswitch is still off).
    I'm no electrician, but this feels very wrong here: even with the switch off, the lamps seem to get power.

I will have an electrician look at it as soon as possible, but in the mean time, what is my best/safest course of action? I decided to remove all the lamps, just to cut out any power.

I'd never have discovered it if I had not replaced the halogen lamp for a led lamp. It does make me worry about other lamps in the apartment though (there are many similar built in lights, and some of them are currently not working; I assumed it was just the bulb, but maybe there is more to it?).

Thanks!

Jörg
    Last edited by VJ; 7 March 2011, 16:30.
    pixar
    Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow. (James Dean)

is this by chance on a circuit where one of the light switches are illuminated?.. if so, the very little current which passes through to light the, usually neon bulb in the switch is enough to get the LED bulb going. I have the same here with lighted switches in a 3 way switch setup, which makes the CFL bulbs flash faintly
    We have enough youth - What we need is a fountain of smart!

i7-920, 6GB DDR3-1600, HD4870X2, Dell 27" LCD

Comment