New fileserver ...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New fileserver ...

I got three of these to satisfy my NAS/fileserver needs (each around 70-80 USD from ebay).

Got two of these (110 USD each) and accompanying shells to go with them (~25 USD each).

Upgraded the firmware in the NSLU2 to run a custom linux (SlugOS4.8beta). Spend time on installing programs. Spend even more time on configuring programs.

voila, 500GB fileservers that draws less than 5 Watt!

Pro:
    - runs linux: very flexible
    - very low power draw

Con:
    - 266Mhz ARM CPU, 32MB RAM: limited resources for services. Max throughput to read/write files from my MS Vista PC was limited at 48Mbps.
    - runs linux: things almost never works as it should without needing to troubleshoot a lot. As I'm not a programmer, it means that some stuff doesn't work as it should and never will till someone else fixes it.
    - SlugOS is a small distro: As the distribution is a bit obscure, the amount of packages available is limited (to around 5000-6000). Appearantly compiling yourself is an option (but a very slow one) on the NSLU2 itself.

Current software installed and configured on the NLSU2:
    samba server (for Windows filesharing needs)
    ssh server (when needing to manage the thing)
    OpenVPN server (so I can get to my fileserver from anywhere with a net connection)
    TwonkyMedia server (uPNP server for share my entire music, videos and picture collection to all uPNP compatible devices on the network/VPN; which is primarily WMP11, WMP12 and a Philips NP1100).
    dm-crypt (encrypts personal documents share with AES ESSIV cipher, which hopefully means that in case the NSLU2 + USB HDD is stolen, the thieves will not have access to my personal documents; network throughput from/to USB HDD is reduced to about 1MBps from ~5MBps with encryption enabled)

Software to be installed: