Router recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Router recommendations

I've been using a Linksys WRT54GS for ~4 years without any problems.

Lately, my wife has to work online and is getting a weak signal at the opposite end of the house from my office. I replaced the internal Dell wireless adapter with a Linksys PCI adapter and that improved her signal. My IBM T-42 (work laptop) has the Intel Proset wireless card in it and can get a strong signal anywhere in or outside the house.

So, I don't have any laptops with N adapters yet but was considering the upgrade which may help her.

I've been looking at the D Link DIR-625, DIR-655 and Linksys WRT160N, WRT610N.

But lately the reviews don't look promising on most of the new routers....LOL!!!

Now, I don't do any networking/sharing just need the wireless access to get on the internet for work and the Roku for Netflix. I do like the simplified setup for the Linksys but they aren't getting good reviews lately...
    "Never interfere with the enemy when he is in the process of destroying himself"

I also have a T42 and I have WRT54GL at home (bought it previous month), parent's house, previous job and tons of installs at previous job - no problems except couple fried or reset due to storms.

I'd get Linksys by Cisco WRVS4400N, I set one up for some Café - great stuff:
    - gigabit
    - N
    - 4 SSIDs
    - QOS, port priority, priority by SSID, VPN...
    - Linux

It's a bit expensive but you're going to keep it for couple of years.

Comment

I'd second the WRVS4400N... excellent quality overall.

I have my Smoothie running a WAP4400N from the Purple Interface and really like it.
      Hey, Donny! We got us a German who wants to die for his country... Oblige him. - Lt. Aldo Raine

Comment