Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Personal : Audigy 2ZS vs Supreme FX II (ASUS add-in)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Personal : Audigy 2ZS vs Supreme FX II (ASUS add-in)

Well.
    I've been using the Audigy 2ZS for a few years now, and have accustomed to it.
    Due to the HR-03, I can't quite fit it into the case. And keep a 120mm fan fed just above it.
    Too much cooling lost.

So in comes the AD1988 ( or something) PCIe card ASUS gives with the Maximus Forumla.
    Mehen, you should have gotten a similar, if not the same, one with your X48 mobo...

Lets go on a tangent here, for comparisons sake:

A few years back, when tapes were all the rage still, my neighbour bought a Nakamichi Dragon.
    I had the lowly tape recorder my parents had bought 10 years or so before...

The difference ?

on Chrome Moly Tape, and expensive Metal tapes (Type IV) I could record at such a volume that it was equivalent to having a 20W amp in the car.
    Yes I had a 20W amp in the car, and 20in subs under the seats. So I knew what 'normal' amplified sound was like.

This was a huge step in my understanding of audio recording and playback, and what 'quality' meant.

I have since aquired a sweet Denon amp, and 5 klipsch SF-1 speakers.
    I only use 4, since the central channel is taken by my monitor and the huge mess in front of it.

So, The Audigy is like the nakamich dragon, the sound is much louder, I only have to take the amp to -24 to -16 to have loud music. ( the neighbours are all on hols atm)

On the Supreme FX II thingy, I have to go form -16 to -10 on the amp to get the same volume.
    BUT, and its a big BUT, I hear a wider spectrum of sound on the Supreme FX II than I do on the Audigy 2ZS.

Its as if the Audigy 2ZS normalised the sound, and did shit with it, whereas the AD1998 chip just transcodes and amplifys it...leaving the original sound...

So, What are your experiences, and especially, with what hardware...