Best PPGA to Slot 1 converter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best PPGA to Slot 1 converter?

Since the price of a Celeron 466 has dropped to ridiculouly low levels, ($68! WOOHOO!) I've been pondering the purchase of one to replace my P2 300. My motherboard is an AOpen AX6B. Recommendations for a PPGA to Slot 1 converter requested.

Also: If I do get the Celeron, how much of a performance improvement will I gain, roughly?

Gracias.

------------------
    Kenlon
    "I am. All else is negotiable."
    Kenlon

http://bxboards.com/iwill370ii.shtml

Although I have no experience with this Slocket, it is the first slocket that is supposed to be Coppermine socket compatible. In other words, you can buy it now and slap your socket 370 celeron on it. Then once the socket 370 (or whatever they call it) versions of the coppermine CPU comes out, and drops down to an affordable cost, you can slap that on the same slocket and away you go.

Jammrock

------------------
    PIII 450@something higher, 256 MB RAM, 35 GB on 2 WD Expert drives, Abit Hot Rod UDMA 66 controller, CL 6x DVD, G400 32 MB DH, SB Live! w/ Digital I/O, LinkSys Etherfast 10/100, DSI 56k modem, Addtronics 6896A Case w/ a crap load of fans and Dynmat noise dampening in it, MAG DX715T monitor.

Hi, my name is Jammrock. I'm a computer phreak and an EverSmack addict.
    “Inside every sane person there’s a madman struggling to get out”
    –The Light Fantastic, Terry Pratchett

Comment

Ah, but this is not really a long term investment. . .in the end, I hope to go to a
      PIII 500E overclocked higher. . .I was hoping for something cheap.

------------------
      Kenlon
      Kenlon

Comment

ABIT makes a good one! www.abit.com.tw

------------------
        PIII450@558, ABIT BX6-2, 256RAM, G400MAX, SBLIVE
        According to the latest official figures, 43% of all statistics are totally worthless...

Comment