PDA

View Full Version : Next Upgrade question....



Electric Amish
5th December 1999, 18:14
I'm toying with the idea of upgrading my cpu/motherboard sometime after the new year (bonus time at work http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif).

I was just wondering what you guys think. I currently have an Abit BH6 with a Celeron 300a @ 464.

Would you:
a) keep the BH6 and get a 550P3?? (~$450)

b) get a new motherboard (BF6, AsusP3B..etc) and a 450P3?? (~$400)

c) get an Athlon 550 & motherboard?? (~$450)

d) something else??

What do you think? As you can tell, I'd like to stay around $400-$450 mark.

Thanks for the input....

Paul

paul
5th December 1999, 19:05
doesn't the Athlon need 133Mhz ram for full performance?

------------------
k6-3 450 @500 - tyan 1590s bios 1.16 - wdac310100 - g200 mill sgram w/8mb upgrade & bios 2.6-20 PD 5.25 - AGP1x - 128MB 10ns sdram - sblive value 2.1 - 3com 3c905b-tx - cable access (28.8k for emergencies) - win98SE
dx7 - V3 steering wheel/pedals - MS sidewinder PRO

Greebe
5th December 1999, 20:20
No it doesn't. I'm running my Eclipse'd K7 500 @ 850 with PC100 sdram and it rocks!

------------------
Designer of the first Athlon mod. Currently marketing the "Eclipse" through AZZO Computers.
Anyone up for an Eclipse'd Athlon 850? ;) Email me for more information

2836 mips, 1.107 gflops @ 850 mHz 1:3 latency
CPUmark99 70.7

Wombat
5th December 1999, 23:35
Hey Greebe, I just read about an air-cooled Athlon at 884, better get going!

Greebe
6th December 1999, 00:17
Was it done for $238 total? Nope

Greebe
6th December 1999, 00:30
EA, Stick with a K7 500 as there is absolutely no reason for a 550 (500's now coming in are 650's anyway!). So that'll save you a few bucks. Typically run fine @ 800 (1:2 cache latency ie a real K7 800) with an Eclipse.

------------------
Designer of the first Athlon mod. Currently marketing the "Eclipse" through AZZO Computers.
Anyone up for an Eclipse'd Athlon 850? ;) Email me for more information

2836 mips, 1.107 gflops @ 850 mHz 1:3 latency
CPUmark99 70.7