PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Outlook 2003 + SecureIMAP



Fat Tone
30th January 2008, 07:11
I use Outlook 2003 to poll two POP3 accounts and two IMAP accounts. This has worked reasonably well for a long time (Outlook is a little fussy with 2 IMAP accounts, but it just about copes). Well now my main work email server has changed to Echange 2007 and thus swapped to secure IMAP, and now it just doesn't work. I know the settings are right, I've tried more than one machine including a fresh install of Office, and even bypassing the router. I can get a folder list, but updates of the Inbox rarely happen and I never get the contents of sub-folders. Attached is what happens, and where it sits!

Any ideas please? This is seriously killing my productivity.

FWIW I'm on a Virgin 4MB line. No other traffic issues, Google isn't helping.

TIA

T.

Technoid
31st January 2008, 09:29
Does it just hang at that point? (or do you get any kind of error msg?)

Fat Tone
31st January 2008, 09:52
I've not been patient enough to get an error message.

My IT department are adamant that it is down to Virgin, so I'm basically screwed. I really don't expect any help from them.

Technoid
31st January 2008, 15:11
and it only happens when you have both the imaps and the pops?

UtwigMU
31st January 2008, 15:56
Why are you using IMAP with Outlook and Exchange? Did you try OWA?

Fat Tone
1st February 2008, 01:46
@Technoid: It always happens, even with a fresh install and only this account added.

@UtwigMU: Most users use OWA most of the time, and it is good, but I have 4 email accounts to keep an eye on and suffle items between. Not all of the accounts will allow forwarding.

Technoid
1st February 2008, 03:17
@Technoid: It always happens, even with a fresh install and only this account added.

Visit your friendly IT department, bring a sledgehammer :_ogre:

Fat Tone
1st February 2008, 03:40
You mean there are 'friendly' IT departments? REALLY? wow.

Technoid
1st February 2008, 04:50
Oh yes ;)

They are verry friendly when you remember to bring the sledgehammer :devious:

To clarify; if you get the same error on different machines, they have either given you wrong info, or have a problem at their end!

The sledgehammer is to make em fess up to it :_ogre:

The PIT
4th February 2008, 15:19
Install Thunderbird and see if that plays ball.