Armadillo Space: Quad, Modules & Space Diving

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Armadillo Space: Quad, Modules & Space Diving

Lots of detailed news from Carmack's crew. Good read. Here are some key points;

>
    We made the decision to not bother testing the hotter engine before XPC, and just go with the flight-tested pattern. We have dropped 20 pounds off the vehicle since we did the 192 second flight, and that wasn’t to complete depletion, so we have 200+ second capability as-is, which should be plenty for the 180 second level two flights. My wife scolds me sometimes about not just sticking with a working solution, and she is usually right.
    >
    We brought out Texel, our second Quad vehicle, and propagated all the updates we have made to Pixel over. We are in the process of making sure that our team skill sets are fully redundant, so I started training Russ on running the laptop flight control software to fly the vehicles (Joseph is also training Phil on driving and operating the crane truck). We went out for a tethered test, but we managed to get a bit of a bang on startup, which cracked the graphite chamber.
    >
    To address each of the issues we believe led to the startup bang (which wasn’t much as hard starts go, not damaging any metal, but the graphite is fragile), we are now doing the following: