I'm seriously thinking about upgrading to a p3

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm seriously thinking about upgrading to a p3

500 or 550 and trying o/c'ing.I currently have a dell p2 450 so I'm going to have to
    get a new motherboard and case.I want to
    use my current h/d(with current programs,etc., if possible), sound card, ram and modem,etc.As I am new to this I want to make it as simple as possible and need some expert advice.For example:
    1)What's a g400max compatible motherboard that's easy to overclock and has minimal problems?
    2)What's a good case that has adequate cooling out of the box and space for expansion?
    3)Is there a web site with a walkthru
    for what I want to do.

Is this a major project or relatively simple?
    Any advice would be appreciated.

I have an ABit BX6 r2 and a PIII 500 which I've been very happy with. I run the CPU overclocked to 585 and it has proved to be 100% stable running both the normal and MAX G400. The ABit motherboard is nice for overclocking as the CPU speed can be set via the BIOS software so no fiddling around with jumpers on the motherboard.

As for cases I always go with a large tower case for the extra space and ventilation. I think what you want to do is easy enough, but then again I've been doing all of this since I was knee high to a grass hopper

Comment

It's not too difficult, I managed with a little sideline coaching from a few Forum members

I recommend ABIT motherboards their Bios and Soft Menu II make it easy to overclock. Either the BX6 rev 2 or the BE6 are great for the P3's.
      The case, either mid or full tower but get at least a 250-300 watt powersupply.

For cooling your P3, get either an ALHPA P3125 or the Vantec P3-5030. 2CoolTek has good prices on these.
      www.2cooltek.com/index.html

Paul
      "Never interfere with the enemy when he is in the process of destroying himself"

Comment

Thanks Ant and ALBPM.Now I've got a start.