Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• legal question

It's about this: link.

There is no doubt that this is a terrible story.

Is Comcast really at fault though?

Wouldn't the tech have the right to presumption of innocence here?

Isn't it the "system", which failed to remand him, place him under house arrest, or at least bar him from working with the public, that is really to blame?
    P.S. You've been Spanked!

Technically this lawsuit is without merit. If the suspect had no previous criminal record, was performing his job duties, etc, the by law he would be considered "innocent until proven guilty." Meaning Comcast had no reason to fire him without evidence from internal incidents that he was a violent person.

But I'm not a lawyer. And knowing the US inJustice system, the fiance will probably walk away with several million.
    “Inside every sane person there’s a madman struggling to get out”
    –The Light Fantastic, Terry Pratchett

Comment

Companies that send people into the homes of their customers have special responsibilities as regards the safety of their customers during such visits.

As such Comcast should have at the very least put him on "house duty" (working only in Comcast buildings) until the situation had been resolved.

That's the way it is for the vast majority of municipal & state employees, and the case could be made that those providing public utility services in the home should be the same.

ex: when a cop is involved in a shooting most departments put them on desk duty until the Shooting Review Board decides if their actions were appropriate.
      Last edited by Dr Mordrid; 7 March 2007, 15:56.
      Dr. Mordrid
      ----------------------------
      An elephant is a mouse built to government specifications.

I carry a gun because I can't throw a rock 1,250 fps

Comment

Originally posted by Dr Mordrid View Post