PDA

View Full Version : What's your Vista Baseline score?



Fat Tone
6th February 2007, 01:49
I thought this might be useful to see what MS think is needed/important.

I get a 4.2 on Vista Enterprise, 32-bit, determined by the lowest sub-score:

CPU: 4.2 (A64 3400+ S754)

RAM: 4.3 (2*512MB DDR low latency)

2D: 5.9 (9800XT, 1920*1200 + 1280*1024)

3D: 4.6 (9800XT ditto)

HDD: 5.3 (250GB PATA MAXTOR Maxline III 7L250RO)

I find it ironic that the oldest component in the system gets the highest score.

MS Guidelines:


A computer with a base score of 1.0 or 2.0 usually has sufficient performance to do most general computing tasks, such as run office productivity applications and search the Internet. However, a computer with this base score is generally not powerful enough to run Windows Aero, or the advanced multimedia experiences that are available with Windows Vista.

A computer with a base score of 3.0 is able to run Windows Aero and many new features of Windows Vista at a basic level. Some of the new Windows Vista advanced features might not have all of their functionality available. For example, a machine with a base score of 3.0 can display the Windows Vista theme at a resolution of 1280 × 1024, but might struggle to run the theme on multiple monitors. Or, it can play digital TV content but might struggle to play High Definition Television (HDTV) content.

A computer with a base score of 4.0 or 5.0 is able to run all new features of Windows Vista with full functionality, and it is able to support high-end, graphics-intensive experiences, such as multiplayer and 3 D gaming and recording and playback of HDTV content. Computers with a base score of 5.0 were the highest performing computers available when Windows Vista was released.

PAugustin
6th February 2007, 03:00
I tested vista RC2 x64 and had 4.5 with the following system :

A64 X2 3800+
RAM : 1Gb
Radeon X800 GTO
HDD : 250Go SATAII+320Go SATAII+...

I am waiting to get a retail version of Vista x64. Maybe I'll get a higher score as I now have 2Gb of RAM. I don't remember what component had the lower score.

DGhost
6th February 2007, 06:36
On my primary laptop...

4.0 overall
Proc - 4.0
Ram - 4.4
Graphics - 5.9
Gaming - 5.7
Hard Drive - 4.9

Second laptop...

3.1 overall
Proc 4.8
RAM - 4.5
Graphics - 3.3
Gaming - 3.1
Hard Drive - 4.9

Admiral
6th February 2007, 07:01
E6600 @3.6 GHz
2GB RAM
X1900XT
36GB WD Raptor (system drive, non raid)

VJ
7th February 2007, 05:38
Fujitsu-Siemens P1510
(Pentium M 1.2 GHz, Intel 915 graphics, 512 MB RAM, 60 GB HDD, tablet pc, no dvd drive)
(note that Fujitsu-Siemens already has Vista drivers for most components in this laptop :up: )

It seems to give no score :confused:, but has the following comments:
1. install DVD drive (duh!)
2. upgrade the video card (reason: it cannot run aero)
3. upgrade the ram (needed for aero)

incompatibilities:
1. Gobinder (Agilix), which is an MS Powertoy for Tablet PCs
2. Bluetooth widcomm stack (and related comport, audio and lan devices)
3. Fingerprint software

Some programs might have minor incompatibilities (Norton Ghost, DVD-RAM driver, Windows Messenger (!)), and one is incompatible: ActiveSync (!). Instead of referring to the successor present in Vista, the comment is "refer to the vendor's website". :D


Jörg

Sasq
7th February 2007, 06:07
*you have a mac.
running vista would only downgrade your user experience
please refer to attached doctors list for required labotomy before installing vista.

ZokesPro
7th February 2007, 06:29
I have no clue how to test my Vista Baseline Scoe but it has a sticker saying it's Vista ready so I assume it will run pretty good on my laptop. :p

ND66
7th February 2007, 06:53
*you have a mac.
running vista would only downgrade your user experience
please refer to attached doctors list for required labotomy before installing vista.


:D :D :D



Anyway, it's going to be a while before I'm in Vista. Too bad this in not a "Stand Alone" tool. :ermm:

.

Helevitia
7th February 2007, 08:37
Proc - 5.0
Ram - 5.0
Graphics - 5.9
Gaming - 4.9
Hard Drive - 4.5
Overall - 4.5

AMD X2 4800+
2GB Mushkin DDR 2-3-2-6
Asus X800 XT PE
IBM Deathstar 40GB(Using Raptors for XP installation currently)

ND66
7th February 2007, 08:46
E6600 @3.6 GHz
2GB RAM
X1900XT
36GB WD Raptor (system drive, non raid)


Admiral, what are the RAM specs you have & what motherboard do you use?

BTW, nice set-up. :up:

.

Admiral
7th February 2007, 10:44
Strangely enough I have an Asus P5B-E rev.A, the one that misses north bridge voltage settings (can tweak fsb termination voltage though).
Memory is Corsair TWIN2X2048-8500C5 running at 1000Mhz (5-5-5 15) right now with cpu at 400fsb.

VJ
8th February 2007, 05:55
Proc - 4.6
Ram - 4.x (dunno exactly anymore)
Graphics - 1
Gaming - 1
Hard Drive - 3.x (dunno exactly anymore)

And this is on a virtual installation (I have installed a running Vista system on VM Ware, just to play around with it). The virtual machine was specified with 2 processors, 768 MB RAM, IDE harddisks; it is running on a dual Xeon 2.4 with 1 GB.


Jörg

schmosef
9th February 2007, 03:23
I've got a 5.4 with Vista Ultimate x64.

I'll updated this post with a screenshot later.

agallag
9th February 2007, 12:41
5.0, with the CPU (A64 X2 4600+) as the lowest score.