PDA

View Full Version : A warning for all you OCers...



SteveC
22nd June 1999, 09:05
Abit BX6 r2 in Flames...
<A HREF="http://www.hardocp.com" target="_blank">www.hardocp.com</a>

I did post this earlier, but it seemed to have been lost at sea...

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

Using dodgy beta stuff in not that bad a PC with all sorts of bits n bobs in it helping to find ET calling home... :)

ICQ: 29468849

cpt puget
22nd June 1999, 10:22
steve, i read that page all the time and he is always pushing the envelope. he is getting a lot of mileage out of this. ive seen that BBQ picture at three different sites. fun page to read actually......

Markus Selchow
22nd June 1999, 20:05
Thx 4 the warning Stevie !

As I told you guys: use Asus ...

http://forums.gagames.com/forums/biggrin.gif LOL http://forums.gagames.com/forums/biggrin.gif

------------------
Cheers,
Maggi

Not too slow running Asus, Intel & Matrox based system ...
Actually boosted by the Millenium G400 32MB SGRAM DualHead 8-)

SteveC
22nd June 1999, 20:15
Bah! Asus! Wouldn't catch me defecting to the other side - Abit for ever! http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

Using dodgy beta stuff in not that bad a PC with all sorts of bits n bobs in it helping to find ET calling home... :)

ICQ: 29468849

Markus Selchow
22nd June 1999, 20:25
then how come that your AGP performance is so lousy compared to mine ?

can you smell the upcoming smoke ? http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif

------------------
Cheers,
Maggi

Not too slow running Asus, Intel & Matrox based system ...
Actually boosted by the Millenium G400 32MB SGRAM DualHead 8-)

SteveC
22nd June 1999, 20:28
Didn't know it was.... time to look over those 3dmark99 results again methinks...

sniff sniff - secondhand smoke from Tom's site? http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

Using dodgy beta stuff in not that bad a PC with all sorts of bits n bobs in it helping to find ET calling home... :)

ICQ: 29468849

Markus Selchow
22nd June 1999, 20:32
hehehe ... we never had a mobo brand flame war, did we ?

Is it about time ?

http://forums.gagames.com/forums/biggrin.gif LOL http://forums.gagames.com/forums/biggrin.gif

Btw, I think I know how to increase your AGP scores http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif

and look at Tirtanium too ... (high detail & big textures)

------------------
Cheers,
Maggi

Not too slow running Asus, Intel & Matrox based system ...
Heavily boosted by the Millenium G400 32MB SGRAM DualHead :)

SteveC
22nd June 1999, 20:42
No - never had a mobo war.... ABIT RULEZ, OK!

Go on then - how do I increase my AGP scores?

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

Using dodgy beta stuff in not that bad a PC with all sorts of bits n bobs in it helping to find ET calling home... :)

ICQ: 29468849

Markus Selchow
22nd June 1999, 20:49
Set your RAM timing to 7ns http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif

http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif ASUS ROCKZ !!! http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif

------------------
Cheers,
Maggi

Not too slow running Asus, Intel & Matrox based system ...
Heavily boosted by the Millenium G400 32MB SGRAM DualHead :)

SteveC
22nd June 1999, 20:52
But my RAM aint that quick... oh well, I'll try it anyhow. I'm using 2 cheap 64mb pc100s (8ns I think).

BOOO!!!! Asus BOO!!!
ABIT!! CHA CHA CHA!! ABIT!!!!! FOR EVER!!! http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif
This could get silly....

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

Using dodgy beta stuff in not that bad a PC with all sorts of bits n bobs in it helping to find ET calling home... :)

ICQ: 29468849

Markus Selchow
22nd June 1999, 21:06
f**k 4 ABIT - ASUS is the 150MHz FSB-RULE http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif

this IS silly ... but sort of funny http://forums.gagames.com/forums/biggrin.gif

Anyway, using SPD RAM timing reports CAS 3/2/2, 8ns result in 3/3/3 and I have no probs in running at 7ns (2/2/2) http://forums.gagames.com/forums/smile.gif

Go ahead an try !

------------------
Cheers,
Maggi

Not too slow running Asus, Intel & Matrox based system ...
Heavily boosted by the Millenium G400 32MB SGRAM DualHead :)

SteveC
22nd June 1999, 21:16
150FSB - Bah! Who NEEDS it? I think mine goes up to 147 or something anyway...

Lovely voltage options in BIOS - no need to start removing resistors and such like.

Anyway, I'll admit, Abit aren't the best - the cream of the crop is definitely PCCHIPS. Now they use the most reliable (cough..) best quality (ahem...) and just all-round pukka components!

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

Using dodgy beta stuff in not that bad a PC with all sorts of bits n bobs in it helping to find ET calling home... :)

ICQ: 29468849

SteveC
22nd June 1999, 21:20
AHA!! My beautiful Abit BX6r2.2 goes up to 153mhz Bus Speed! So go chew on that!

SteveC
22nd June 1999, 21:23
OK, You win on this bit - I can't do 1/2 AGP bus....

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

Using dodgy beta stuff in not that bad a PC with all sorts of bits n bobs in it helping to find ET calling home... :)

ICQ: 29468849

Markus Selchow
22nd June 1999, 21:55
I surely can't leave you alone ...

Look, you're already talking to yourself http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif

So I won this li'l Mobo flame ?

Also there is a hack for enabling SoftBIOS on the newer asus boards :P

------------------
Cheers,
Maggi

Not too slow running Asus, Intel & Matrox based system ...
Heavily boosted by the Millenium G400 32MB SGRAM DualHead :)

SteveC
22nd June 1999, 22:02
Me? Talk to myself? Can you hear that? Yeah! He's saying that you talk to yourself! HA! Little does he know what goes on in my mind... Look, stop talking to yourself, Steve, he might realise that you do this kind of thing. Hey, we could go on for days talking to me... I think I'll stop now. Oh, btw, notice that that Maggi bloke has an Asus board! ha ha! Not like you who has an Abit. Yeah, I know, I'll never leave the Abit camp.
http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

Using dodgy beta stuff in not that bad a PC with all sorts of bits n bobs in it helping to find ET calling home... :)

ICQ: 29468849

Markus Selchow
22nd June 1999, 22:19
http://forums.gagames.com/forums/biggrin.gif DUDROFLOL http://forums.gagames.com/forums/biggrin.gif

Great Stevie !

Gimme more http://forums.gagames.com/forums/wink.gif

Btw, where's the rest of the gang-bang ?
Still staring at an empty hardware forum ?

------------------
Cheers,
Maggi

Not too slow running Asus, Intel & Matrox based system ...
Heavily boosted by the Millenium G400 32MB SGRAM DualHead :)

Jammrock
22nd June 1999, 23:15
Markus,

How do you get softBIOS to work on ASUS boards? I have a P2B-F...ASUS RuLeZ!!!!!...and would love to know how to get a softBIOS running on it. Any help would be apprciated.

Jammrock

Markus Selchow
22nd June 1999, 23:21
Hi Jammrock,

actually it depends on the revision your mobo is, but at http://www.miro.pair.com/tweakbios/ you'll find that tool.

It doesn't work on my rev 1.0, but I think from rev 1.10 upwards it should do the job http://forums.gagames.com/forums/smile.gif

Maybe you could post the results ?

------------------
Cheers,
Maggi

Not too slow running Asus, Intel & Matrox based system ...
Heavily boosted by the Millenium G400 32MB SGRAM DualHead :)

Markus Selchow
22nd June 1999, 23:28
I forgot to mention that you probably have to add a jumper ... look here:
http://hp.vector.co.jp/authors/VA002374/nrklv/e/p2b.html#jen

------------------
Cheers,
Maggi

Not too slow running Asus, Intel & Matrox based system ...
Heavily boosted by the Millenium G400 32MB SGRAM DualHead :)

Hellmut
23rd June 1999, 21:13
Hi all,

The P2B-F hasn't got those holes needed for the jumpers anymore. Neither did 1.0 and 1.04 revisions of P2B. The 1.10 had.

But ASUS still rulz because it is the board I have! ;-)

bye,
Hellmut