PDA

View Full Version : Firefox 2.0 on the 24th....



Dr Mordrid
21st October 2006, 22:18
http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,127603-c,mozilla/article.html

The PIT
22nd October 2006, 02:30
Using the beta here quite nice.

Greebe
22nd October 2006, 02:41
Have used the beta, not bad, but will be forced to stick with 1.5.0.7 til some of the plugins get retrofitted.

Kooldino
23rd October 2006, 08:46
Have used the beta, not bad, but will be forced to stick with 1.5.0.7 til some of the plugins get retrofitted.

Yeah, I don't like going with the big jumps for at least a week or so, that way all of my plugins are compatible.

Dr Mordrid
23rd October 2006, 09:23
Several of my plugins are for features now in 2.0, so....

cjolley
23rd October 2006, 09:35
I have been using 2 for a long time.
Most of the plugins I use (used?) have been updated for 2 for quite a while now.

High_Jumbllama
23rd October 2006, 10:59
I've been having trouble with the latest RC3 where one or more firefox processes will remain open preventing me from using it unless I end the tasks. This has been since RC2. I haven't tried a clean install with no extensions yet though.

Admiral
23rd October 2006, 12:38
it's already out it seems:

ftp link (http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/2.0/win32/)

Kooldino
23rd October 2006, 13:48
Several of my plugins are for features now in 2.0, so....


Which ones?

Dr Mordrid
23rd October 2006, 15:45
TabMix Plus's close tab button for one.

I'm also looking forward to the online spellchecker. Because of my carpal tunnel & leftover problems from that hand infection my typing is sometimes less accurate than I'd like.

cjolley
23rd October 2006, 16:03
...
I'm also looking forward to the online spellchecker.
...


You ain't just whistling Dixie.

Kooldino
24th October 2006, 07:10
TabMix Plus's close tab button for one.

Sure, but TabMix Plus does a lot more than that.

Kooldino
6th November 2006, 12:31
So I waited until all of my plugins were updated, and I bit the bullet and went for firefox 2.0.

Despite me backing up my sessions and stuff (with tab mix plus), I still somehow got burned and lost all of my tabs. ARGH! Every freakin' time. God, it's annoying.

Anyway, I have one big gripe...when you get too many tabs, it institutes these lame controls to scroll back and forth among your tabs. Instead of the tabs just resizing themselves smaller like the used to, they run at a fixed size, and you have to click your mouse on the << and >> buttons a dozen times to go back and forth. It's rather annoying. Anyone know of a workaround?

agallag
6th November 2006, 12:49
With tab mix plus you can tell the tabs to go multirow instead of scrolling. You can also specify min and max tab width in there.

az
6th November 2006, 12:50
Use the Original? :p ;)

Kooldino
6th November 2006, 13:00
With tab mix plus you can tell the tabs to go multirow instead of scrolling. You can also specify min and max tab width in there.

Yeah, i did the multi row thing for now. Not a huge fan, but I guess it's better than the scrolling nonsense.

agallag
6th November 2006, 13:03
If you set the minimum tab size lower, you should be able to get the functionality you want.

Kooldino
6th November 2006, 14:22
Good call. 50 did it for me.