More bad caps :(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• More bad caps :(

I've been battling a weird problem that looked like OS/virus/malware for a couple of days. The main symptom was IE closing straight away, sometimes throwing errors. Other times disc access seemed really laboured.

Finally spotted this on the EPOX EP-8RDA+ mobo:

ARGHH!!!

This is from a system I sold to a colleague in Feb 2004. The other system he had from me had problems too, so this is quite embarrassing. Is it worth trying to replace the caps? Will anything else have been stressed as a result?
    FT.

Replacing the caps will not be expensive, but it won't be easy either. Do you think you're up to this? Socket A boards should be pretty cheap off ebay nowadays, shouldn't they? I don't think it's worth the effort.
    There's an Opera in my macbook.

Comment

It looks like a simple solder job:

I have plenty of soldering experience (my degree was E&EE) but not too much recently.

I'll see if I can get replacements from the local Radio Shack later.

Failing that, maybe this is the time to get a newer mobo into the HTPC (the ASUS one in there are not been used much. It has a Sempron 3000 on it atm). I don't really want to say to my colleague he has to upgrade again, and I don't really want to buy an old board off of ebay.
      FT.

Comment

you can't get it fixed under warrenty?.. 3 year warrenty is not unheard off on a motherboard
        We have enough youth - What we need is a fountain of smart!

i7-920, 6GB DDR3-1600, HD4870X2, Dell 27" LCD

Comment

I think it is just older than 3 years as I was running it myself for ~8 months before he had it.

Just found 3 more with coroded or bulging tops (not so bad though) near the ram I'm going off the idea.

Update: Manf date 0803
          FT.

Comment

Radio Shack doesn't sell the caps you need. Try www.DigiKey.com get caps rated LOW DCR, low imedance and a temp rating of 105c