Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working with eTVs mpg2 files

Hi everybody...

I was just wondering which kind of tools you are using to handle theese mp2 files...

Before eTV I used mediastudio - and it was quite fast because it used the matrox mjpg codec. but now it takes lotsa time to save back the mpg2 file (and I just wanted to cut off beggining and end of my tv capture)...

so, as a eTV newbie I have the following questions:
    - how to edit (trim) the file
    - why is my winoncd SVCD profile not accepting this mpg2 files
    - any way to get mp1 files captured instead of mpeg2?

thanks a lot,

papick

You can trim them in TMPGEnc, but only with a restricted choice of parameters. Ex: MPEG-2 is limited to VBR and not the CBR the eTV's files are saved as.

Speaking of which, these are the MPEG parameters of the SP captures done with the eTV. This should help set up your software;

GOP sequence;

IBP @ I=1, P=3, B=2

Audio: 384 kbps @44.1khz/16 bit

Video:

Stream type: MPEG-2 MP@ML CBR
    Aspect ratio: 4:3 Generic
    Framerate: 29.97 (NTSC)
    Nom. bitrate: get this from BitRateView or the MSPro/VS Insert Video File/Info dialog.
    VBV buffer size: 112
    Field topfirst: No
    Frame type: Progressive

If you want to use interlaced video (less aliasing, better TV compatability) then apply the following RegKey to change GoMotions setting. Make SURE you back up the original registry settings first;

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Ligos\GoMotion Interlaced]
    "FieldOrder"=dword:00000000
    "Interlaced"=dword:00000001

WinOnCD is likely choking on the frame size, audio bitrate or the lack of interlace. SVCD has looser parameters than VCD, but not that loose. TMPGEnc should be able to do the conversion.