PDA

View Full Version : 8TB in a full-size ATX case



Jammrock
11th June 2006, 20:40
Via 50 x 200 GB 2.5" HDDs. So it's actually 10 TB, but you lose 2 TB to parity (pesky RAID arrays). Granted the case is a CM stacker, which a big arse case! But still...

http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=2765

http://images.dailytech.com/nimage/1770_1753_large_storage_cluster.jpg

I love the first comment about the article:

Finally a computer with enough storage space to install Vista!

Now that would be one wicked cool NAS. Enough to store a large collection of DVDs and HD content. drools...

lowlifecat
11th June 2006, 21:14
*twitch!* factor 5!!!

that is awesome. you can really 'enlighten' someone with that thing :) :) :)

agallag
12th June 2006, 10:24
Seems like an expensive way to do it, when you could use 13 750GB 3.5" drives to get the same capacity, at about 2/3 the price. You'd probably save on controllers too, since you'd only have ~1/4 the number of devices. Not sure how much power that would use though...

MultimediaMan
12th June 2006, 10:55
I hate to see the cabling in that case.....

GT98
12th June 2006, 11:38
Looks like my coolermaster case I have :)

Technoid
12th June 2006, 12:28
I hate to see the cabling in that case.....

Fortunatley the stacker does NOT have a plexiglass window ;)

Wombat
12th June 2006, 12:40
Cabling's fine, I'm sure. If they're hot-swapped like that, they're probably flush against a custom PCB backplane.

ZokesPro
12th June 2006, 12:45
Seems like an expensive way to do it, when you could use 13 750GB 3.5" drives to get the same capacity, at about 2/3 the price. You'd probably save on controllers too, since you'd only have ~1/4 the number of devices. Not sure how much power that would use though...
Or replace all 50 HDD's with a 750GB models and end up with 37.5TB case!

Paddy
12th June 2006, 12:47
go on someone price it up ;)

Tjalfe
12th June 2006, 12:54
Or replace all 50 HDD's with a 750GB models and end up with 37.5TB case!
that would not fit, as the 50 hdds are all 2.5" drives, where the 750GB drives are 3.5" :p

ZokesPro
12th June 2006, 13:05
that would not fit, as the 50 hdds are all 2.5" drives, where the 750GB drives are 3.5" :p
*SLAPS FOREHEAD* D'uh! And it was so obvious too. :p

Jammrock
12th June 2006, 13:51
Seems like an expensive way to do it, when you could use 13 750GB 3.5" drives to get the same capacity, at about 2/3 the price. You'd probably save on controllers too, since you'd only have ~1/4 the number of devices. Not sure how much power that would use though...
If you read the article, the box is to showcase data center storage solutions more than anything. The drives are 4200 RPM, but only operate at 1.6 W max, while a 750 GB operates at 9.3 W (80 W vs. 120 W). So while they wouldn't make great desktop drives, if you're just pushing huge chunks of data in a massive RAID array, they would be fantastic (you are after all spreading the data across 50 drives, so it can be retrieved in huge chunks).