Disadvantages of smaller notebooks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Disadvantages of smaller notebooks?

I'm considering to buy a notebook for work. I would use it only for travel and for work. I have a reasonable desktop computer with good graphics. My point is: I prefer the notebooks with smaller screens (about 12" to 13") becuase they are light, look nicely and don't take too much place. I'm definately a light traveler.
    Since I have no experience with notebooks: Are there disadvantages in these smaller ones?

Well there's always potential heat problems, but more often than not you can end up with a system that is lower on specs than a larger counterpart. Of course, that's increasingly not true.

Cost and expansion options are probably the biggest disadvantages that still apply to the thin and small ones. In terms of expansion, since you already have a desktop system you are happy with I wouldn't see that as so much of an issue.
    Last edited by Jessterw; 10 June 2006, 09:53.
    “And, remember: there's no 'I' in 'irony'” ~ Merlin Mann

Comment

Also, some subnotebooks or very small notebooks have too small keyboards, or at least some keys that are too small.
      There's an Opera in my macbook.

Comment

With the small notebooks you are often stuck with intel graphics or something equally ram sharing. This doesn't sound like to big a deal to you though. A couple other points is battery life... smaller computer, same basic needs... smaller battery. They are usually less intensive overall so it evens out or you end up winning since the screen is still the biggest power draw.

I think the biggest thing to look out for is it's not an ultralight that requires its optical drive be external. Still for travel I recommend ripping your movies to the drive or have your discs as iso's and use Daemon Tools. A spinning drive uses less energy than a cdrom even if you have one built in and it's less to carry around.