Office 2007 Beta

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Office 2007 Beta

Just installed this at work and one word yuk.
    Outlook 2007 looks really awful and amaterish and doesn't have quite the same interface which is a slight redeaming feature.
    Messy interface which is probably giving the user too much information. Going to a nightmare with the "I'm not technical" crowd ringing up when they've got lost amongst it.
    It also seems to use clear type so anything you type looks blurry and horrible. Interesting when you compare the same font in wordpad and office. Wordpad is a lot clearer.
    Openoffice will probably do well when this comes out.
    Looks like Microsoft have lost the plot to me.
    Chief Lemon Buyer no more Linux sucks but not as much
    Weather nut and sad git.

My Weather Page

Yeah I went to a MS demo of Vista + Office 2k7 about a month ago. Office especially was disappointing; as an IT tech monkey I will be explaining the new interface every day for 6 months (if we buy it - unlikely), they call it radical but seriously it just uses those 'ribbon' horizontal menus instead of vertical ones, and the rest of the new features (live preview of font changes, self-destructing / unprintable word documents) are just gimmicks really. The fact that it's native documents are not readable even in Office2k3 is rediculous - you could buy office in christmas 2006 and not be able to read documents that are created the next easter (in 2k7).

Best of all was the announcement that now you must double-click on selected text to bring up a contextual menu becacuse MS research showed that right-clicks were "too confusing". It seems apple was right with their one button mouse in the 80s
    Last edited by Whirl-Secret; 7 June 2006, 12:21.

Comment