Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anybody have any experience of OpenText, Livelink and/or Oracle HR?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anybody have any experience of OpenText, Livelink and/or Oracle HR?

I need to know how easy it is to use OpenText/Livelink cms to get data out of Oracle HR dynamically, and if access levels will be respected when doing so.

tia

Barry

I didn't see anything on their web site pre-defined for Oracle except PeopleSoft on Oracle.
    You mean Oracle HR? Or People Soft HR?
    Oracle Financials databases are amazingly obtuse.
    I have had some experience querying them though.
    What are you looking to do?
    Last edited by cjolley; 8 April 2006, 21:05.
    Chuck
    秋音的爸爸

Comment

Hi Chuck, thanks for the response,

I was asked to look at replacing an intranet 'Company Contacts' directory, and thought that I would expand the proposition in such a way that the whole company hierarchy could be exposed, using a treeview, with the options of showing not just the people in the company, but also stuff like headcount and where the dept/cost centre fits into the company structure and also where it's physically located.

I've been told that the company uses Oracle HR, so I need to investigate whether this functionality is already built-in and how easy it is to get out to a browser and style it so that it fits in with the corporate style. Doing it this way will probably mean that access levels are respected fairly easily.

I understand that the company uses Opentext for its cms/intranet and I know that they have Livelink, but like you, I couldn't see anything for the HR side, and the website doesn't give any clues as to how to write pages to access databases.

If the above two options aren't available, I'll be looking at asking the Oracle DBAs to write me some views that I can query in order to retrieve that data I want. (Ha!)

Barry

Comment

Do you know what version of Financials they are on?