DV question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DV question

I don't have any experience of working with DV as I have a Marvel G400TV and more importantly no DV camera. However, for a forthcoming project I am going to shoot on a DV camera (not sure which model) and want to edit at home using Vegas Video which I know well and am familiar with.

I don't have a firewire input on my system and being a student I can't afford to buy one. However, is it possible to get the DV footage transferred onto a computer with firewire input (which I have time-restricted access to), then put those files onto a CDR, then load them into a Vegas project on my PC. Then when I have finished editing burn the resultant file onto a CDR, take it back to the computer with the firewire input and put the finished product back onto DV tape? From what I know I think it would be possible given that DirectX8.0a has a DV codec but before this all started I wanted to check it out with some experts. Or failing that, you lot.

J.O.N.

Yes it possible. The problem is if any clip or your final output gets bigger than 650-700MB that'll fit on a CD-R

You probably can't edit from the CD-R the speed just isn't there so you'll have to copy form the CD-R to your hard drive to edit.

I've seen "generic" TI 1394 chip based firewire cards for $29.95 that included a cable and Ulead Visual Studio software.

--wally.

Comment

Great. Sorry I didn't make it clear, I was planning to copy the files from CDR to the hard drive.

So what are these 'generic' cards like? What disadvantage does it have over the more expensive? I don't need the software, and the Microsoft DV codec will do for me.

Is there something as cheap in the UK or would I be best ordering from the US?

thanks,
      J.O.N.

Comment

Jon,

Buy a copy of this months Computer Video mag, available from WH Smith and other large newsagents. They've got a round up of "budget" firewire cards that should be of interest to you.

Chris