X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ATI Radeon 64 VIVO

Hello,
    I'm going to buy this card.
    I need some suggestions, especially about video capture stuff.
    I'm not a professional video editing user.
    I choose this card because of its gaming performance and VIVO capabilities.
    How does Radeon 64 video capture quality?

I just converted over from ATI Radeon Aiw 32MB which is basically same as the 64MB with less memory.

I had nothing but trouble with the card for many reasons.

It is not a terrible card, it has some flaws but I end up selling it and getting a Matrox G450 eTV.

The video capture is what I needed. The quality of the capture were not that great and often flawed. I got jitters, unknown compabilility probs, and poor encoding to VCD format even with the latest drivers.

It was working awhile ago, all of a sudden the card just started having the problems.

When I moved to the G450 eTV, my only complaint is the copyright protection scheme that I hate but it has worked good overall.

Comment

It's working well here in Win2k. You just have to be a bit carefull about the driver-version you're using: there were two or three versions that broke the capturing-stuff.
      But I don't capture with ATIs program but with VirtualDub, since software realtime mpeg-2 encoding is too bad quality IMHO (on any card that does this without special hardware).
      So just capture HuffYUV AVI or high-bitrate MJPEG and the convert it afterwards to MPEG2 or DivX/MPEG-4 with a HQ encoder - you'll get good results.

The only thing that the VIVO lacks is a SVHS input (it has only composite in). At least there's a SVHS out...
      But we named the *dog* Indiana...
      My System
      2nd System (not for Windows lovers )
      German ATI-forum

Comment

Well, I guess ATI must replace their buggy driver with a better one ASAP. They have to optimize 3D performance while perfecting VIVO, what a job!