Tottaly off topic - CPU Temperature

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tottaly off topic - CPU Temperature

I have upgraded from my 1Ghz Athlon to a 1.3Ghz. I have a cooler master EP5-6I11 and an additional 92mm fan blowing directly onto the heatsink.

The CPU temperature sensor shows 40 deg C when running the CPU at 100% when running SETI@home.

Is this high, average, or good.

I would like to know how the rest of the guys are getting on.

Regards

Pooh

[This message has been edited by Pooh (edited 04 May 2001).]
    ASUS P4S533, P4 2.53Ghz, 1.25Gb PC2700, 40Gb System HD 120Gb AV HD, WinXp Pro

Pooh, I have never measured CPU temperature, But have run many tests on Silicon Chips. Generally they will run up to 125 centegrade before they pop. Military stuff runs up to 150c. But these were simple IC's.

Athlons etc. have millions of transistors deep inside, so i guess your 40c reading is not representative of the chips internal reading. But 40c sounds spot on, i would 'imagine' it would have a long life at that temp. It will be interesting to see what others have to say on this.

------------------

Comment

40c I would be very pleased with such a low reading at 1gig +
      My Duron 750 at 850 runs at 47 (max) that's with heat transfer paste on the temperature
      sensor for a more actuate reading ! (NOT RECOMMENDED as this could damage you'er MB)

zeb.

cpu maximum temp specs
      http://www.heatsink-guide.com/
      My PC :Matrox G400TV AMD Duron750mhz@850mhz,256Mb,Abit KT7133raid,10gb ibm,10gb seagete,20gb7.2k-rmp fujitsu,LG CDWR 40x16x10
      win98se
      Entertainment : P150mhz@160mhz,16mb,VX MBoad,PCI-TNT with TV/out,H+ dvd,Creative x5 dvd

Comment

My PIII/850 is running at 42C, so you're not too bad off.

Dr. Mordrid

Comment

I have set up 2 other PIII 850 they are running 29 and 39 c
          Mine (PIII 850) peaks at 54c usually 48 to 50c Funning thing is I have anextra cooling fan in older case ,the others do not?