IP Cop vs Smoothwall

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IP Cop vs Smoothwall

I need to build a router out of a 700Mhz PC with 2 NICs. I have no experience doing this. I have moderate linux skills. Should I go with IP Cop or Smoothwall? Why?

anyone?

Comment

Originally posted by Kooldino
      anyone?
      I've used Smoothwall - easy to set up, community support is quite good.
      I had to change some files within it to cope with our weird network, but for most people everything should be configurable through your web browser.

As standard it only firewalls in one direction, but there is a mod to make it restrict outgoing traffic, too.

I can't remember why I chose Smoothwall over ipcop but there was a good reason at the time.

Comment

I'll put in a vote for smoothwall, but only because it was the first one to come across my path when I set up the machine. Very easy to set up and I've hardly had to fiddle with it.

Uberlad
        -------------------------
        8 out of 10 women say they would feel no qualms about hitting a man.
        5 out of 10 referred to me by name.

Comment

I've used Smoothwall following suggestions on here. Its been iron-clad. Was great cos I needed two separate LANs to share a net connection without being able to see each other. It only runs DCHP on one LAN though, but this isn't normally a problem.
          FT.

Comment

Hey, my friend beat me to you guys and pushed me to try IPCop, so I did.

However, it's not working 100%.

I have a 172 network and a 192 network.

The router is obviously on both networks, with 2 lan cards.

The GREEN network is the 192 network.
            The RED network is the 172 network.

I didn't do anything fancy to the configuration.

192 computers can see the router (named Rizzo), and they can also see the 172 computers.
            The 172 computers can see the 172 side of Rizzo, but can't see anything past that.