HTPC on a tight budget...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HTPC on a tight budget...

So, I'm finally getting around to replacing the boxen under my TV. I want to replace the ancient DVD player and VHS machine (and possibly cable box) with an HTPC capable of receiving the UK digital Freeview service.

So, I'm thinking:

Shuttle (or simillar) socket-A barebones for ~£125
    Socket A xMHz CPU for ~£30
    HDD I can find
    DVD-RW for ~£35 (can add later, have a combo drive lying around somewhere)
    Freeview cards can be had for ~£50+ with remote
    Mem: 512MB for ~£25
    Wifi card I have already.
    So that adds up to ~£265.

What speed CPU can I get away with? I have a Duron 1200 somewhere. Are cheaper Freeview cards any good? Is it better to get MCE than use the supplied PVR apps? What SFF case to get?

I'm a noob at this side of things, so any suggestions welcome please.

Many TIAs

Tony.
    FT.

Originally posted by Fat Tone
    So, I'm finally getting around to replacing the boxen under my TV. I want to replace the ancient DVD player and VHS machine (and possibly cable box) with an HTPC capable of receiving the UK digital Freeview service.

So, I'm thinking:

Shuttle (or simillar) socket-A barebones for ~£125
    Socket A xMHz CPU for ~£30
    HDD I can find
    DVD-RW for ~£35 (can add later, have a combo drive lying around somewhere)
    Freeview cards can be had for ~£50+ with remote
    Mem: 512MB for ~£25
    Wifi card I have already.
    So that adds up to ~£265.

What speed CPU can I get away with? I have a Duron 1200 somewhere. Are cheaper Freeview cards any good? Is it better to get MCE than use the supplied PVR apps? What SFF case to get?

I'm a noob at this side of things, so any suggestions welcome please.

Many TIAs

Tony.